I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 15, 2007 - 2:32 p.m.

Party like it's 90.7

I forgot to mention this the other day; I am now officially old. I joined AARP. The things we do for discounts.

Yesterday was the WFUV volunteer party, an annual feature of my social calendar. The party was theoretically from five to eight on the Fordham campus. That means getting there during rush hour. I decided for once to not be anal and leave really early; it was a party, there is no reason to get there just when it starts. So I left myself a half an hour traveling time. The thing is traffic wasn't bad and I knew to avoid the Cross Bronx Expressway, which was at a stand still so I got there in about 20 minutes. The party was at the library which is at the opposite end of the campus from the lot they made us park in so I got there just about 5. When I arrived I heard a disembodied voice calling my name. I looked around and couldn't see who was calling me. Then I looked up. It was Linda from the station. The party was on the fourth floor patio and she was up there. Once she has my attention she told me to tell Kelly, from membership, to let us in. There were already quite a few people waiting outside to get in so I wasn't the first one there but I was the first one in the door.

This was the best location and the best weather we ever had for the party. I was perfect. We went upstairs and of course made a beeline for the food and drink. I was a bit disappointed with the food but that isn't the point of the party. I had a great time. I always end up playing the social butterfly at these parties. If I sit at a table I'll be with one small group of people and I want to talk to everybody. So I flitted from table to table all evening. It is one of the few places I get to feel popular. I brought my camera and took pictures of every table. I felt like a wedding photographer. I always like having something to keep me busy.

There was a trivia contest hosted by Darren DaVivo. Darren's questions are a lot harder than Jeopardy. I was able to get a couple right and won some CDs as a prize. Here are two questions I got right and one I didn't but felt I should have. See if you know them.

  1. Who was the very first act to perform at Woodstock?
  2. What two bands were created out of the ashes of the Yardbirds?
  3. Where did the band Death Cab For Cutie get its name?

I'll give the answers later.

I lost track of how many people complimented me on my outfit. I was wearing my dress linens and my panama hat. I've been getting that a lot but I'm still not used to it.

I did a pretty good job of remembering people's names. That is always tough for me as there are so many volunteers. They all know me because Jim and I are the only two supervisors. One person confused me with Jim. She thought I worked for one of the City agencies. Jim is the assistant budget director of the Department of Transportation.

I think I'm going to break my rule and upload the pictures I took and post some of them here even though I haven't caught up with my backlog from FRFF. Wow I've taken 337 photos since then.


The Patio from below


Gary, Sue, unknown, Ken, and Ron waiting to go in before the party


DJ Corny O'Connell, unknown, Corny's Wife Amy, and Me. Don't I look spiffy?


DJ Darren DaVivo showing his sports colors


The crowd intent on the trivia contest


Jim and Louis


Cara the Membership Director and Chuck the Program Director


Here I am looking spiffy again. I feel so guilty I can't remember my friends' names

I ended staying to the very end of the party. The friends whose name I can't remember showed up late and I wanted to talk to them before I left. I then got friendly with Kelly, Cara's, assistant. We all ended up walking back to the lot together.

You can see all the pictures here.

I had a debate with myself about what pictures if any to post here. Most of you don't know these people but I do write about them and I thought you might be curious as to what they look like.

Now for something completely different. Look what Voldemort Dick Cheney had to say about invading Iraq and overthrowing Saddam Hussein back in 1994. What do you think happened? Did he get stupider or did he stop caring about all the people he knew would die if we invaded?


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 15, 2007
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!