I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 06, 2010 - 1:38 p.m.

Virtue or Vice?

This is coming hard on the heels of my last update but it might be my last till Monday afternoon or even evening. Tonight I'm going to see The Kennedys. Maura just got back from Paris and this is their first show in ages. Tomorrow morning I'm going to leave early, my plan is to be out of the house by 9. I'm not even going to make breakfast, I'll grab it and Dunkin' Donuts. If I get up early enough I won't be able to resist cooking which will oddly enough make me leave later. We'll see how it goes.

My first stop is Atlantic City to see My Beloved Beatific Batnosed Embryo, Leah. Leah will be 25 this month but to me she'll always be an embryo. She'll also always be beloved, beatific, and batnosed. What's batnosed? You just had to be there. If the stars are aligned correctly I'll bring her the hat and shirt she left at my house a bit before Christmas � 2008. Yes I procrastinate. Shoot me.

Leah and I have no specific plans. We'll make believe we care then do what we always do, go to the Chinese Buffet for lunch. It's tradition. I'll stay there till about 3:30 then head out to Havre de Grace for The Susquehanna Music and Arts Festival. After the Friday night set I'll go out to Waffle House with Phil and Allison then drive to LORi and Steve's house outside of Philly. The next morning We both drive to Havre de Grace for Day two of SMAF. After that once again we'll go to Waffle House. Then we are going to the Motel 6 in town for the night. On Sunday we'll go to the last day of SMAF then I'll drive home to New York and collapse. I better get decent parking.

Have you noticed that I keep busy? I find it odd but many people praise me for going to many concerts like it is a virtue. Some others criticize me like it's a vice. It's neither. It is who I am.

I'm making great progress on Richard Dawkins's Greatest Show on Earth. I have my criticisms but one thing I love is how he stresses that the theory of evolution is not primarily based on the fossil record but on observations of life on earth now. I got that from reading Darwin's The Origin of Species but I give credit to Dawkins for saying it explicitly. It makes sense as there wasn't much of a fossil record when Darwin and Wallace came up with the theory. More than anything it is based on the geographic distribution of life forms. If each species was created independently and immutably then there would be no reason that similar species would live near each other. One remarkable prediction that was made largely based on evolution is that when closely related species live far apart and nowhere in between those now distant places were once connected. This was at first explained by continental drift, a wrong theory of how the land masses moved. Now we know it is plate tectonics. That is an interesting analogy to evolution. Yes the mechanics of continental drift was wrong but the large scale features it was trying to explain were correct. Even if natural selection were shown to not be the driving force of evolution it would have no bearing on the truth of evolution itself.

I also like that he includes photos of dancing sifakas, a type of lemur, because it is his favorite animal. I'll do him one better. Here is a video.

Is Dancing Sifakas a good band name?

I watched the Mets last night. They lost yet another extra-inning game. Jerry Manuel once again shows what a terrible manager he is. He might be the winner of the Greg Anthony award. That goes to the person, usually a player, that would most help the team with a career ending injury. Rod Barajas is leading the Mets in home runs but I'd still pick him the player they most need to get rid of. The home run hitting won't continue at this torrid pace but his obscenely low on base percentage will.

I wish I had something to say about math and teaching today. That way I could get to most of my defining interests. I already covered music, baseball and science. I guess I'd still have to cover mythology, classic literature, science fiction, fantasy, food, and classic film. I almost wrote about Jurgen today. Does that count? I guess almost doesn't count except in horseshoes and hand grenades.

Now it is time to go to class so I better wrap this up.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 06, 2010
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!