I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 24, 2011 - 10:52 a.m.

I Tried to Not Write a Thanksgiving Entry

I've wasted far too much time. I have to leave here in 40 minutes so I can make it to my Thanksgiving dinner at Larry and Diana's house. One of the things I'm thankful for is getting to not only write Wise Madness but for having Gentle Readers. I need to supply your recommended daily allowance of idiotic blog.

I don't think I actually have an idiot story for you. Wait I do! Early yesterday I called my pharmacy to refill my prednisone prescription. I never picked it up. I'll see if they are open today if not I have to wait till tomorrow. I should point out that I walked right past the pharmacy when I went shopping. Yes I'm an idiot.

I just upped my prednisone dose to 40 mg a day yesterday and I'm already feeling the effects. That's the magic of prednisone. Some people complain about how it makes them feel. It makes me feel healthy. Hey I'm thankful for that. I'm starting to notice a pattern. I decided to not make this a Thanksgiving entry but Thanksgiving seems to have other plans.

I got bagels yesterday and made an important discovery. It was raining so I took the bus both ways. I took the 44 Limited on the way there and the 20 on the way back. They go on exactly the same route on the stretch I take. I got a free transfer! So if you are taking a bus somewhere in NYC and are coming back less than 2 hours after you started if you come back on a different bus you can do it for one fair. You can also do bus and subway. That I knew since there is no way for them to know which way you travel on the subway. That's something else to be thankful for.

I forgot to write a food discovery. I love my cooking. In fact I enjoy my cooking more than I do anyone else's. I don't make many things but what I make I make well. I am always looking to expand my horizons which is difficult because I don't like to eat that many things. One good avenue for expansion is substitution. It struck me that I should try mashed plantains. I could have just winged it but I decided to check on the internet for recipes. The basic preparation was exactly what I thought, cut the plantain and put it in water for exactly the time it takes to make a mashed potato. What I would not have thought of myself is replacing the butter and half & half with olive oil. So not only is it cheaper than mashed potatoes it is healthier. It tasted great. I used a spotted plantain. I'll try it with a yellow green one next time I think a black one might be too sweet but I'll experiment with that too. Do any of My Gentle Readers make plantains? They are cheap and delicious. Try it instead of potato. I'm thankful for loving my own cooking and plantains. I'm really not thinking of things to be thankful for. There are forces here beyond my control.

I created my annual Festivus Event on Facebook. Seventeen people are already attending. My dream is that it goes viral. I want to see a hundred thousand people saying they are attending. That means you have to not just attend but invite all your friends to attend too. If you do I'll be thankful. Ok that was a bit forced.

There used to be a feature on your Facebook profile that was like a personal motto or description of yourself. I was a permanent feature of your profile that they eliminated when they decided that they wanted Facebook to be twitter. That was sort of like when Coke decided it wanted to be Pepsi. Mine said:

I'm not a social butterfly. I'm a social bee pollinating the garden of music.

What made me think about that? I always try to figure out my place in the folk music world. I have no real position, I'm not an presenter except for two days a year at The Budgiedome, Though perhaps I am now since I'm on the board of the Christopher Street Coffeehouse but that's new and more a product of my position than defining it. I have no other professional or official position. What I am is part of the buzz. And why am I writing about that? Because it then struck me how well that fits in with being a social bee. Yes this was all about a play on words. I'm thankful for being a bee and the pun.

Now if I want to get invited back for next year's Thanksgiving I better post this and get moving.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 24, 2011
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!