I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 20, 2007 - 11:46 a.m.

It is always right to see the Sons of the Never Wrong

I still haven�t found my camera. I might have to actually write about SMAF without pictures. I�ll give myself Monday to find it. Today I won�t have time.

Last night I went to see The Sons of the Never Wrong. How much do I love those guys? Well I turned down two freebies. Chris won tickets to see Dar and somebody else I liked and offered me one and John Platt offered me tickets to see:

Martha Trachtenberg & Tom Griffiths (LI's favorite musical couple)
Buddy Merriam and Back Roads (LI's premier bluegrass/Americana group)
The Milton Band (featuring NYC singer-songwriter Milton, a City Folk favorite)

That show was in Port Washington, right here on Long Island. A show I can get to in 20 minutes and there are no tolls.

Yet I decided to make the trek to deepest darkest New Jersey to see The Sons. That�s how good they are. They rarely come to the New York area and I try and never miss them when they do. Pete Kennedys turned me on to them by telling me they were a cross between Moxy Fr�vous and Dave Carter. I�d add We�re About 9 to the mix. In other words there are irresistible. They have brilliant lyrics, complex harmonies, and whacky stage banter; what more can you ask for? Watching Sue and Deb dancing around the stage when they aren�t singing is worth the price of admission. Sue always reminds me of Bernie. She is totally insane in the best possible way. She�ll just take off and run through the audience playing the strumstick. She bounces around the stage like a pinball machine. She is also a great musician. She�s the band�s rhythm section playing her djimbes.

So when did so many women start becoming drummers? It used to be a rarity now it is commonplace. I saw two the last two nights, Cheryl Prashker played last night. There is also Cadence Carroll and Laura Cerulli of disappear fear.. They all play the djimbe. Actually every drummer that I�m on a first name basis with is a woman. Well OK there is Jian but I meant �good drummer.� I actually know other drummers but I couldn�t resist the dig at Mr. Ghomeshi.

I thought the show was at 8PM. I like getting there early so I can get a good seat. I started a bit late and missed a turn so I didn�t get there till 7:40. When I got there I noticed that the parking lot was empty. I was happy that I parked right by the door but was afraid I got the date or venue wrong. When I went in I discovered my error. Last night was the end of the season ice cream social. I thought it would be during the intermission. Instead it was before the show and the concert started at 9. the upshot was that I got my favorite seat, front row center.

I socialized for a while before the social and while I was eating my ice cream. Then I started feeling antisocial. There was still half an hour before the show so I decided I needed to talk to a friend and I called Melissa. If she hadn�t moved to Boston she�d most likely have gone to the show with me as she loves the Sons too. I haven�t spoken to her in ages. That was a really good choice on my part. It was just what I needed.

After the show as per usual I stayed to talk to the band. Deb was busy somewhere and Bruce just sort of remembered me. Sue ran over and gave me a hug as soon as she saw me. I told you she was like Bernie. Of course Bernie doesn�t just hug me, he kisses me too.

I have a busy schedule today. Right now there is an open house going on. My plan is to finish this then go out shopping so I don�t have to be home for it. Then I�m off to pick up Gella to see Dan Bern at the Turning Point. I will then race back to Brooklyn, drop Gella off, then I�m off to the Met game. The concert starts at 4 and the Met game at 8. I should just about be able to make it. I might end up dropping Gella off at the subway but I�ll try and bring her home.

I�ve had lots of thoughts racing through my head and maybe I�ll actually write about some of them one of these days.

One more thing. Check out the new quotes at the top of the page.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 20, 2007
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!