I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 13, 2015 - 12:23 p.m.

Beware the Slides of March

I did some research. On the new Word I'd have to install a Visual Basic Macro to allow it to open in Draft Mode. What is their motivation for making it so difficult? It's the preferred mode for many people not just me? Why do they make it so difficult? Why are some computer people such control freaks? Is it that people that lack social skills going into computers as computers do what you tell them while people don't?

New rant I now can't see the cursor. What's with that?

OK now for nicer things, what I did yesterday. I went to the first ever weekday Courthouse Concert. That's Gene and Isabel's house concert series. Oh the curse is back. I did some research and someone suggested zooming to 500% then back. It worked. We will now return to the regularly scheduled blogging

Last night's show whttp://as "The Slides of March." That's the cute name they came up with for Abbie Gardner and playing together. They were joined by Abbie's husband Craig Akin on bass. This is very much a not just a house concert but a home game for me. They are all my people.

I was all prepared to take the Long Island Railroad there when I realized that Chris is going and he has a car and lives in Brooklyn and I'm on the way. I asked him yesterday and he picked me up. That made my life a lot easier. Of course driving in the rush hour traffic made me NOT miss having a car.

There were plenty of people I knew in the audience too. Yeah there were. I bet some of them even had names. It is so hard not having a brain. Rona and Bob, see I remember somebody, introduced me to someone, Mike! And said that I know everyone. Yeah right. Everyone knows me. I am lucky fi I know myself. I talked a lot to Mike so I know that he was there. Oh and Sue from Jersey. I haven't seen her in years. OK then there were all those other great people whose names I don’t want to drag through the dirt of my blog. That's it. I actually love them more. Abbie and Pat both play slide guitar, thus the name of the show. They play guitar "the right way."

Craig is not a hipster who feels the need to be different and plays bass like this.

Abbie is on the list of people I know so well that I have a deep seated need to heckle. When they covered Hank Williams' Hey Good Looking I said, "That's about me!" Yes I can get away with that. It's really sad. Why do they even let me in the door. I mean I didn't even bring my special dish, the Chocolavinator, aka chocolate chip French toast bread pudding. I just ate everyone else's food, mac and cheese, babka, homemade apple pie, black and white cookies … Hey it's me. If you want more wordage on the music than the food read Rolling Stone. OK bad example. Read some music magazine that actually writes about music.

Everyine in the show was playing hooky from their usual bands. Craig is in Roosevelt Dime, Abbie in Red Molly, and Pat in Brother Sun. Pat has three other gigs without the band this week. I call it his bachelor week. He's running wild playing wild places like a Unitarian church.

Abbie and Pat dug out material from their solo careers and even a cowrite. That's how I first knew Pat. Abbie was already in the band when I met her. But I've always been a fan of her solo stuff too. There was at least one year when she was not just the musician I saw the most often, she was the person I saw the most.

I had something else to say about Pat and totally forgot it. It's hard not having a brain. Probably something about me loving them. Just remember something about Abbie. This was her fifth performance at Gene & Isabel's. Not sure if that's a record. I think not, We're About 9 has that beat. Of course she substituted for Pat Klink one of those shows. What is it with Abbie and Pats?

I saw Abbie do something I haven't seen before, play the Uke.

Maybe she just put her guitar in the dryer. Sometimes they play the guitar the wrong way.

Sometimes they lose the guitars all together.

We did not make a quick exit, but weren't the last to leave either. The ride home was easier, just a little over a half an hour. I was surprised at the route the GPS suggested but it worked. Lots more driving in the streets of Brooklyn than I would have chosen but I think it was right.

OK I have more music tonight and tomorrow. Looks like Sunday is an off day. I'm back to keeping busy. Now for brunch. Oh wait, I want to tell you about yesterday's brunch. Something weird happened. I made the grits with cheese, eggs and sausages mixed in. This time the consistency was all different, it was doughy. It stayed in a lump. That never happened before. It tasted great and this was easier to eat. But I don't know why it happened. I wonder if I used more cheese than usual. OK now to put down the computer.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 13, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!