I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 13, 2016 - 12:45 p.m.

Lots of Silliness

Yesterday was not a good mental health day. I didn't even go to the house concert I planned, the debut show by the Brother Brothers aka Adam and David Moss. It was at one of my favorite house concerts, The House of Love aka Amy's. I needed to go shopping first and kept putting that off and finally I gave up. How bad was it? I needed eggs; they are much cheaper at Trader Joe's. Trader Joe's closes at 10 PM. It was a challenge getting there in time. I'm started to get ready to go out at 9:22. I know that because I sent a message to Emily that I had to leave then. It only takes 20 minutes to get there so it should not have been a problem. But I got to the subway and found that the wasn't running. That meant taking the which runs local and takes something like ten minutes longer. Then at Hoyt Street, one stop before mine, the train doors didn't close. There was an announcement that was hard to hear but it sounded like "This train is delayed because there is a sick passenger." Sick passenger is one of the worst delays. They have to wait for EMS to get there, they have to find the patient, they have to give care on site, then take her out. So I got out of the train and decided to walk the extra distance. I walked quickly. I got to Trader Joe's and saw people walking out. I tried to go in. The guy at the door said, "sorry you can't go in we're closed." I said, "My train got delayed all I need is eggs please let me in." I gave him my best puppy dog eyes. I have really good puppy dog eyes. He left me in. I grabbed my eggs and a jar of peanut butter. I didn't even get a basket.

I did manage to edit pictures and videos today. I promised to show you the The Kennedys video when it was done but for reasons unknown the sound was terrible so I didn't bother uploading it to YouTube. Here's the one I took of Honor Finnegan.

That's my favorite song by Honor and I love so many of her songs. It's so good that I chose it over her funny songs and I'll usually go for funny. I have ranted here many times how people devalue humor and think it's not as important as "serious" songs. They are wrong. But Swimming is so powerful that it floats to the top. No I'm not going to apologize for that.

When I posted that on Facebook I said that I knew it wouldn't be a popular choice for favorite song on the album. I thought it too dark for popular taste but she says that she's gotten for more comments about that then the one I thought would be the favorite, I Should Stop Having Sex with You. I will video that next time. Honor remind me.

I just noticed this but The Kennedys led to my two best social interactions yesterday. Brianne saw them Friday night and we talked about it yesterday. Last night they played at the Steeple Coffeehouse and Emily FB messaged me from the show to say she missed me. Last year I went up there for the Kennedys' show and introduced them. She sent me a few short videos too.

Joe and Emily had their fourth daughter earlier this year, what was it six weeks ago? Sounds about right. Remembering the names of three daughters was a tax on my limited memory. I know and love these kids so I sort of had to do it. But now there was a fourth. I tried putting my foot down and saying that I would not learn her name and simply call her 4. It's a great name. It's in honor of Lou Gehrig. But I was talking about her with Maura and decided I really had to learn her name. I fessed up to Emily that I didn't know it and asked what it was. I then appended her name to the mnemonic I use for the other kids. No it's not some word or phrase made from their initials. Those things never work for me. I have to remember the real thing to remember the mnemonic. I need associations. So for that family the theme is classy actresses and Queens of England. You'll see how this works. Their kids are Maggie Smith, Kate (really Cate) Hepburn, and Eleanor of Aquitaine who was of course played by Kate Hepburn. So the 4's name is actually Genevieve Bujold who played Anne Boleyn. And yes, I remember this the next day! I am a genius! 4 really is a better name. Just ask George Costanza. He suggested 7.

My plan today was to write about the Donald Trump rally in Chicago but now I'm not going to go there. I'd be pontificating. I'd be right but still pontificating and I'm not feeling very papal today. I'm still disappointed they didn't appoint me pope last time there was an opening. I've wanted that job since Pope Paul VI died.

I'm going to my second open mic in four days tonight. I always say I hate open mics. Know why? I hate open mics. But there are exceptions. Thursday I went to the Christopher Street Coffee House because the Kennedys were the featured performer. Tonight it's First Acoustics and Villa Palagonia is the featured performer. Not just that but many of my musician friends will be in the open mic. And not only that but I'll be in the open mic. Yes, once more into the breach. So if you want to see that you should go. I'll be performing an original song. I am such a bad singer that I won't ruin anyone else's work. OK that's not true. I'm not at all good and I can't play so it's a Capella but there are worse singers than me. They just don’t often have the nerve to sing in front of an audience. Well except for at every other open mic. Even though I hate open mics I have a lot of respect for anyone that performs at one. Does that mean I have a lot of self-respect? I have to keep reminding myself; sic transit gloria mundi. Hey I got that right. Not bad for someone that never took Latin.

Oh, I forgot the one other thing I meant to write about. My readership has spiked tremendously. Look at the last month's numbers. Starting on February 29 there was a sudden increase. More people have read Wise Madness today before I updated than did many entire days in February. Some of it was a few prominent posts I made. The peak on March 9 is because I finally did he obvious thing and gave a link in the John Platt's On Your Radar group to the blog about this month's show. How did I never do that before? The reason is that I didn't want to spam the group for my own gain. This month I decided that writing about On Your Radar is not spamming; it's what the group is about. The second peak on March 12 was because I reposted my blog from 5 years ago with my eulogy for Jack Hardy. Five years after he died Jack is still bringing people in the folk music world together.

Now to make peanut butter on matzoh brei. Have I tried that yet? I feel like I must have but don't remember it. I'll let you know how it goes.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 13, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!