I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 06, 2004 - 4:48 p.m.

The Return of the Harry Potter

Sorry I haven't been updating, the computer is getting worse and I don't want to give up on it till I find a way to save my files.

My mother got a parking ticket yesterday and I went to fight it for her. It wasn't in the city but in Nassau County. The court isn't in an easy place to get to and my mother wasn't feeling up to going there. I'm not going to go into details but lets just say that they have designed the system to make it as difficult as possible to fight a ticket. You have to go down there on one specific day, a day that I'll probably be teaching. I called my state assemblyman, the woman in his office thought they'd be able to help.

Now on to more pleasant things. Yesterday I saw Return of the King and finished Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. After my usual rants, wanting to throw things at the screen, and shout out the correct dialogue, I realize that ROTK is a great film, it just isn't a Tolkien. I think I might have liked it more as a kid, it seemed to gloss over the scenes that I wanted glossed over. I hated the last trek to Mount Doom, it was just too oppressive. Now that is one of my favorite parts. My favorite parts of the film were the destruction of the scene and the Grey Havens. I heard someone behind me crying then and I could see why.

After reading 870 pages of Harry Potter in a few days I think I can safely say that Rowling is one of the most readable authors ever. I realized oddly enough that her writing is akin to Isaac Asimov's, not someone you'd normally associate with her. They write about totally different things, have different audiences and priorites. What they do have in common is their use of languages. They view the written word as a window into their ideas, one that is best when it is crystal clear. I used to think that was the only way to write, I'm sure you realize that I don't feel that way any more. I love Tolkien's use of language. He uses different styles in different parts of LOTR. The language used in the Shire Chapters is far less formal and lighter than that used in Gondor, or Mordor. Tolkien views the words as part of his vision, not a window into it. You can't separate the medium from the message.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 06, 2004
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!