I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 27, 2006 - 12:57 a.m.

A quiz on the word quiz

I broke my streak. Yesterday I updated at 11:59 PM and today after Midnight so I went a day without updating. Now I can get back to simply worrying about the content of my entries. Do they actually have content? To write or not to write, that is the question. Actually my question is how do you punctuate that last sentence? It sounds like it should have at least one question mark. I just know I'm going to lose credit for that.

I screwed up royally at school today. My calculus 2 class might be cancelled because there aren't enough students in it. I was supposed to call my chairman during the class to let her know how many students were there today. I got so caught up in teaching, it is one of my favorite lessons, I forgot all about it. Now I have no idea what is going to happen. The class went beautifully but it might that classes last session. It is so sad, I was born to teach applications of integral calculus. One student started to interrupt me then stopped when he realized I was talking. I told him to say what he wanted to say, I figured it was a question. Instead it was, "I just wanted to say how cool this is." You know how my students usually are, that made me feel so good. No wonder I forgot unpleasant administrative necessities.

On the way to school I read more of Northanger Abbey. Her use of the word "quiz" puzzled me. Here are three examples.

There conversation turned upon those subjects ... such as dress, balls, flirtations, and quizzes.

... point out a quiz through the thickness of the crowd.

...Where did you get that quiz of a hat?

This clearly did not mean a test. I also wanted to know what the "pump-room" Austen kept mentioning was.

I decided to solve these mysteries the old fashioned way, using the dictionary. I knew not just any dictionary would do though, I wanted the OED. When I got to the school I made a beeline to the librarian and asked, "where is the OED?" She looked at me like I had two heads. I then said, "The Oxford English Dictionary" and she knew what I meant. She gave me the wonderful answer, "over there in the dictionary section." She waved in the direction of half the library. I finally found it, nowhere was it marked "dictionary section," there was a shelf with dictionaries and one was the OED.

A "pump-room" is the room at a spa where they dispense the water. That was simple enough. When I looked up "quiz" one definition was something like an odd piece of clothing and gave as a citation the third quote that I gave above. That was gratifying. Today I read further and she used quiz as a verb, I'll have to look it up again on Monday.

I planned on telling you about another dream today. The problem is I don't remember it anymore. All I remember is that it wasn't an emotional one, it was just very odd and funny. Sort of like me. Am I odd and funny? Or just odd?

I'm going to see the Kennedys tomorrow that should give me better material for my next entry. You better make sure to read it or you might miss something fascinating.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 27, 2006
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!