I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 15, 2015 - 12:20 p.m.

West to Williamsburg

I'm starting to write this way later than I wanted to. I hate when I do that. Well I'm glad I didn't plan on going shopping before breakfast. I need to go shopping. I have only one egg. The problem is that I didn't want to go shopping before I went away for five days and then spun my wheels yesterday and didn't shop.

What I did manage to do was go out to see the Kennedys The Living Room. OK the Living Room is in Brooklyn. I live in Brooklyn. It should not take 50 minutes to get there. But it can. It didn't help that the was running local. And it didn't help that the MTA website didn't say that was true in Brooklyn not just Manhattan. And even though I'm going from Brooklyn to Brooklyn if I go by subway I have to go through Manhattan. of course I leave myself so much time that I was still there well in advance of the show. It was the Kennedys so of course I was doing the merch. And that was exciting. The official release date for their new album, West isn't for two months but they got advance copies and sold them. I got one so I'm officially a hipster. I loved West before it was even released. Hey I was in Williamsburg.

I am not going to review the album for two reasons. One it's too far in advance of the release date.. Second I haven't heard it yet. But I have heard almost all the songs. The entire show last night was songs from West except for one each from Pete and Maura's upcoming solo albums.

I can't believe I didn't know anyone at the show. Where were the other hard core Kennedy's fans? Where were you? I hope you got a doctor's note explaining your absence.

I wish I could blog in real time while I'm at a Kennedys show. They always get my mind racing. They also sent me to Google. One song is Bodhisattva Blues. Do you know what Bodhisattva means? I recognized it as Sanskrit and figured it was something Buddhist though perhaps Hindu. Wikipedia told me;

In Buddhism, a bodhisattva (Sanskrit: बोधिसत्त्व bodhisattva; Pali: बोधिसत्त bodhisatta) is an enlightened (bodhi) being (sattva). Traditionally, a bodhisattva is anyone who, motivated by great compassion, has generated bodhicitta, which is a spontaneous wish to attain Buddhahood for the benefit of all sentient beings.
Musically the song is twangy country blues. It could be sung in a honky-tonk. Meanwhile the lyrics are intellectual and philosophical. The song is Zen, it's a contradiction, it's a Koan. It's amazing. It's also very silly.

When people talk about the Kennedys they will talk about them being uplifting. They will talk about the musicianship; that Pete on guitar and Maura's singing. But what makes it all work is that they can write songs and the new ones are the best they have written. It isn't just West but the solo albums too.

I wish I had photos. I took many but they didn't come out good enough to publish. I think the problem might just be that I have to clean the lens.

After the show I hung out with Pete and Maura for a while then headed home. I didn't have the option of taking the subway home as the was not stopping at Union Square westbound. That's where I transfer to the . But I was lucky. The busses were timed perfectly. It takes two busses but I didn't have long for either one. To make it even better they didn't make many stops so they made great time. It took maybe 35 minutes. Last time I went there it was closer to an hour.

Now I'm listening to West. I'm up to Sisters of the Road. One of the three songs I haven't heard yet. It needs Maura's singing sisters Nerissa & Katrina Nields, Tracy Grammer, and fellow Strangelings, Chris Thompson and Rebecca Hall. Ok that's it I have to save this stuff for when I write the review.

So remember I told you that I had finished watching all the Matt Smith Doctor Who. I was wrong. The Christmas Specials weren't included with the seasons on Amazon Prime. I had to watch them separately. Glad I noticed that before Amazon drops the series today. The last one, "The Snowmen" was important for the Clara story arc. I knew I missed something because he kept saying that Clara was a Victorian bar maid that died and I hadn't seen that. I thought it was a Tennant episode I forgot. And it explains how he knew she was Oswin the girl turned into a Dalek. Of course the Christmas specials were even stupider than the regular episodes and it came close to saying outright the superiority of emotion over reason. Can anyone really accept a 20th century woman being able to drive a complex machine from the sixth millennium that someone who was part of it's crew wouldn't drive because she didn't have the training? She wouldn't be able to turn the lights on. I love the reasoning, "My husband was a pilot and it's like flying a plane."

Yes I can't stop myself from Doctor Who rants. Yet I'm going to miss it now that I'm finished. I have to start catching up to the Capoldi episodes when I'm at Heather's.

OK now to make pancakes. That only requires one egg, all I have.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 15, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!