I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 30, 2014 - 1:20 p.m.

Picture Book

I had all these deep things to write about. Why can't I think of them now? Come on that's an easy one. You know the answer; I'm an idiot.

Not much to write about yesterday. I didn't do much till I had dinner with Heather. We ate at my favorite restaurant in Fort Greene, a block from where I used to live, Caf� Habana. we of course had Cuban sandwiches. I was bad and split a grilled corn with Heather. They look and smell so good I figured I'd risk half of one. I'm not sick and it was amazing. I have to eat there more often. It's so much fun sitting outside there in the summer. Then I showed Heather Fort Greene Park. I want to live in the monument on top.

Then I went to Trader Joe's and home. Katrina and I are moving into a shack on Bora Bora till people come to their senses. We don't need money just a coconut tree.

This is going to be interesting. I'm running late but planned on posting pictures that I finally edited here. That always goes slow. Let's see if I can speed things up.

I had phone battery problems at the American Roots Festival I think it was because my phone got too hot in my bag where I was trying to charge it. My pictures of Miss Tess which I thought were so good didn't come out. I don't mean that came out badly. I mean they aren't on my camera. Not much came out but I'll show you what I have.

Joe Crookston and Peter Glanville

The rest of the pics are from the social music hour.


Kim & Reggie Harris


Mark Miller


Bruce Molsky & Michael Daves


We Shall Overcome

I took this great panorama pic of the entire crowd and it's gone. That's what's the most disappointing, That summed up the festival better than anything.

I got a lot of pics from the Bobtown show at Spiral Sounds. I'll give a sampling and a slide show.


The Girls


The Boys


Spoons


Slide Whistle

As a got out of the subway to go to the PATH on the way to see Bobtown I took this pic of the new World Trade Center.

I thought the paint splatter on Heather's shirt from when we were painting her room made a fashion statement.

There are so many political things I'd like to write about but I�m gong to step back and write about what makes it hard to write about politics. There is no secret that I'm a very liberal Democrat. Almost every day I read something that Republicans that outrages me. I frequently post them on Facebook along with, "I'd be ashamed to be a Republican." And I would be but saying that is exactly counter to the point I'm trying to make and what I'm trying to work on . I have dear friends that are Republicans. They are good people. If I attack like that what I'll do is alienate them not change their minds. What I have to do is what I do best, teach. But it's hard because I am outraged. So much is done out of greed and pandering to hatred and prejudice. And I can't see how good people can be on the same side as the bigots and no nothings. And it gets more complex. I was going to say that my friends are not bigots, but some are. They aren't burning crosses but there are prejudices they don't even know should be hid. I'll never forget a friend telling me, "I'm inviting ___________ he's black but he's a nice guy." But he was still a good person, just warped about this. Do you really think that somehow the 70 million Germans at the start of WWII were by chance all evil? Or even most of them? How do you unwarp people and not make them get defensive and double down on their prejudices.. I don't know I guess nobody knows or there wouldn't be so much hatred in the world.

So all I can do is remember that the idea is not or me to feel righteous but to try and make things better. I won't always succeed and sometimes I do just have to vent. But as in so many things sometimes to achieve your goals you have to show restraint.

Now I have to eat. Today poached egg and Taylor ham is on the menu. Then I'm off to therapy.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 30, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!