I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 09, 2015 - 8:48 a.m.

Perchance to Dream

I got up early this morning and if I'm good will have time to write this. I have almost three hours before I have to leave but somehow the time runs away from me. It's the damn Chronoklepts.

Heather came home from visiting her parents yesterday and I met her bus and helped her carry her stuff, she had a lot. Once again weekend subway construction slowed me down. This time I was prepared but still arrived later than I wanted to but still before her bus was due to arrive, unfortunately her bus came in a little early. The only reason it beat me there was that 33rd street was closed to pedestrians between 10th and 11th Ave. I had to walk up to 34th then back down to 33rd.

Then getting back to her house was an adventure. She lives in Williamsburg right under the and trains, .The problem is those trains hardly go anyplace in Manhattan on the weekends. I planned on taking the to Fulton and switching to the but the terminates at Chambers Street. So that meant taking the to Brooklyn Bridge which connects with the Chambers Street stop on the . That' a portion of the subway that I'm not that familiar with. I never take those trains.

But in the end we got back to Heather's. I hung out there for a while then headed home and made dinner. I bought hamburger patties and froze them. I always thaw meat before I cook it but Bubba Burgers are meant to be cooked frozen and give you instructions on how to do it. Burgers are burgers so I tried the same thing on the ones I bought it and it worked great. That's a big help so now when I come home and have nothing thawed to cook I know what I can make for dinner.

Today I'm off to Philadelphia to visit LORi and Steve. So of course there's a winter storm. What I'm worried about is that the bus will be late and I'll have to wait outside in the snow for it.

I might not have any classes but my school still calls me early to give me weather alerts. That's why I was up so early. As I tried to get back to sleep I had some weird, … um … I don't know what to call them. They aren't dreams but they aren't thoughts. They are quick tableaus. You know how in a dream there's a back story that you pick up as the dream progresses? This is just the back story. The one I remember was I was talking to someone and there was fragile porcelain statue and I told someone that it's very precious to me so to be very careful when he talks to it and not break it. You could probably make up lots of symbolism for that. I'm not going to. I'm telling you because I want to know if those things happen to you too? Why is there no word for this? I wasn't asleep so it wasn't a dream. I just realized that this is probably what happened when I was visiting Carey along with Shelly and was delirious with fever an said, "I think I should become … barbecue sauce." As I said it I had no idea why or where it came from. I did not become barbecue sauce. I guess I still have time.

OK I'm not going to wait till I remember what I wanted to write about. I'm going to make breakfast and get ready for my trip. But wait, I forgot I do have to tell you a miracle occurred. I packed last night. I never pack the night before. I don't pack first thing when I wake up. I pack right before I have to leave. What alien took over my body?



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 09, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!