I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 11, 2014 - 11:09 a.m.

Nonfungible Music .... and other things

Here's something I don't get, website's that give important links only in a slideshow? Do the web designers think we are going to sit there and watch the show just in case the link we want is there? My school once gave the final exam schedule that way. Does anyone who is not a web designer like it? That's not a rhetorical question. I'd like to hear from you.

I had late plans last night so I headed home after school and made the steak that I had taken out for the night before but hadn't eaten. My mental health is still not good, the anxiety isn't going away. My therapy is postponed till Thursday next week because of Pesach. Not that I find it particularly helps. I know exactly what's causing the anxiety and I know what will make it go away and it's out of my control.

Of course I don't let anxiety stop me from living my life. So last night I went to see Roosevelt Dime and Darlingside at Rockwood Music Hall. it was one of those odd nights when it was a pay show but they let the people already in Rockwood stay. so getting their early didn't guarantee a good seat. In fact there were no seats other than upstairs. The Statler and Waldorf seats were taken and I ended up on one of the stools. I usually need back support but I found that if I leaned forward on the railing for support I'm OK. I would have stood but I had on a sweatshirt and jacket and needed a place to put them. I sometimes just throw them in a corner on the floor. The lack of place to put coats and bags is a drawback at Rockwood when you have to stand.

A little after I got there and why the previous performer was still playing I felt somebody behind me. At first I thought it was the waitress squeezing past me but whoever it was, wasn't moving and was rubbing my back. She said something but I couldn't make out a voice and as she was directly behind me couldn't see who the stranger getting friendly with me was. But when the song was over and she slid past me I saw it was not a stranger but Coco! She and Alice sat in the chairs next to me while we hoped that the people in the Statler and Waldorf seats would leave during the changeover. They did! But the people between us and them took them. Our hopes raised then dashed.


Darlingside


Andrew Joins In

This was my second time seeing Darlingside. I loved them even more than the first time. What I picked up this time is how the instruments provide a contrast to the vocals. On many songs the vocals are smooth and soothing then the instruments come in rough and dramatic. So many groups with a similar vocal sound become soporific and they avoid that entirely. These guys know what they are doing. There's musicianship and inspiration. That's a combination difficult to beat.


Roosevelt Dime


I don't know the name of the guest alto sax player.

I've written about Roosevelt Dime a zillion times. They are my peeps. But they never get old. Eben went through two thirds of the set without using the bucket bass and I didn't see it on stage. I was worried that they got rid of it. But no, they just hid it out of the way and put all the bucket bass songs together.

Bruce was back with the band! He's gone off on his own and is now in the pit at a Broadway show! Don't ask me which one. They didn't go on till after 11:00 so he raced down from uptown and joined them. His trumpet adds so much to the sound.


All Together Now

I somehow lost Coco as I went downstairs.This was the release show for Roosevelt Dime's new album;

Click on the picture to give it a listen .

Fungible adj: (Of goods contracted for without an individual specimen being specified) able to replace or be replaced by another identical item; mutually interchangeable: money is fungible�money that is raised for one purpose can easily be used for another Oxford Dictionaries- American English

Fungible is an economics/finance term that find useful all over the place. So many musicians are fungible, anyone that hires them would be just as happy with any other crooner or dance band or sensitive guy with a guitar.. Roosevelt Dime and Darlingside are not fungible. Listening to one of them is not like listening to anyone else. All the musicians that I love are like that.

But that's just the clever segue. Something else that isn't fungible is me. I mean who else would describe himself as nonfungible? I was surprised that my therapist knew the word. I wasn't surprised when she told me that she learned it from me and I had just forgotten that I had used it before. When I'm having difficulties with someone I remind myself that I'm adorable and nonfungible. A nice thing about therapy is that you can praise yourself and get away with it. A nice thing about blogging is that you can write about your therapy and get away with praising yourself.

While no person is actually fungible in the capacity that we interact with them many are. Cashiers, bus drivers, store clerks, and wait staff are for the most part fungible. Those that aren't stand out.

Even friends can to some degree be fungible. You can have fun going to a game or a show with any of a number of people and the experience will be similar. But the special friends are as nonfungible as anything. If you can't see them then there are some thing you must just learn to live without. There isn't anything I treasure more than my nonfungible friends.

Want some food for thought? What people and what things are not fungible in your life? Now it's time for food for my belly. Bacon and eggs or matzoh brei? That is the question. Find out the answer tomorrow.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 11, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!