I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 31, 2015 - 11:23 a.m.

I've Gotta Secret of NIMH

I’m having a very bad vision day so it’s hard to read but it looks like I’m starting this before 10 AM. On weekdays my alarm goes off at 8:30 so I can play the WFUV Question of the Day. After nights where I didn’t sleep well I often go right back to sleep without evening opening my eyes. I love that I can say “stop” and the alarm stops. That’s living in the future. This morning even though I didn’t get enough sleep I woke up to find there was no QotD. I guess that’s better than last week when Paul asked a QotD then never played any of the suggested songs. I slept through that one.

Is someone going to turn my light on and the heat up for me? No? Fine I’ll do it myself I’ll be right back. I did it. Now I can see better and soon I’ll be able to take a blanket off. A few years ago I wrote here or maybe on Facebook about being cold and needing a blanket and Barbara who I know from NERFA sent me one! I’m using it right now. People can be kind. People too often forget that. When you read about terrible things in the world remember that seven billion people did not kill anyone that day. All the atrocities are committed by a miniscule fraction of the population. Even when it comes down to be annoying it’s a small fraction. You ride the subway and you’ll encounter someone annoying and hundreds of people that aren’t annoying. Of course that 1% of the people that thing they don’t take up space and block the doors and stairways are each annoying enough for 10 people.

I didn’t do much yesterday, I went to Trader Joe’s and bought nothing. Why? The main things I wanted were butter, half & half, and eggs. I wanted the first two for mashed potatoes, I’m totally out of both. I picked some things out at the store then got to the back where the dairy is and they were out of all of them! They had totally miscalculated how much they needed and were out. If only I could have gotten out of the house right after lunch like I wanted to. When I couldn’t get what I came for I just lever everything I had in my cart and left. I have to go back today anyway.

So for dinner I made cajun chicken and hash browns. I didn’t have any cajun seasoning so I used a mixture of cayenne pepper, garlic powder, and salt. It tasted great. I made the chicken in my cast iron skillet. That always does a good job.

I got a week free trial of Starz added on to my Amazon Prime account and have been trying to use it. I got it Saturday and I’m out of films that I haven’t seen that I want to see. I saw the last one last night, The Secret of NIMH. As an animation fan I wanted to see that back when it came out. What got me interested more recently is that Heather Aubrey Lloyd has a song inspired by it. I almost posted on her Facebook timeline that I was going to watch it because of her. I was on her page then thought “no.” I’ll just post on my own timeline that I watched it and see if she responds. She did!

It’s a very good film and I can see how you can love it especially if you see it as a kid. But I have two qualms. One is so obvious that I think I must be missing something. The basic plot is that a group of rats and two mice were made intelligent though injections by NIMH. That’s the National Institute for Mental Health, though it never says that in the film. The story is about Mrs. Frisby the wife of one of the mice. She’s told by the leader of the rats how they were made intelligent, her husband never told her. But here’s the thing, Mrs. Frisby wasn’t injected, how come she can talk and read? How come her aunt can’t talk and read? I can see maybe why the kids could as they inherited it from their father. There’s also a sentient, I can’t say intelligent crow. So here’s the thing how can the big thing be a drug that makes animals intelligent when they live in a typical cartoon world where all the animals can talk?

The other thing is that Mrs. Frisby has a magic amulet. There is no hint of where it came from. They are otherwise living in our world, not a fantasy land. Shouldn’t there be some mention of why there’s this one magical object?

When I posted it online that I was watching the film Warren said that next I should read The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents. That’s by Terry Pratchett so of course I have already read it. I had on my own thought of it while watching the movie. It is also about rats that have been made intelligent. In Maurice it’s done by magic because it does take place in Discworld, a magical world. The contrast shows what makes Pratchett, Pratchett. He thinks everything through. The intelligent rats are totally unlike the untransformed rats. The regular rats act like rats. So those who read the books is there an explanation of why Mrs. Frisby can talk and read?

How did I write so much? Yesterday I wrote that I should take notes about my thoughts so I can write about them. I did that. I have two topics but I’ve already written over a thousand words. Let me see if I can make short shrift of one of them. Nope I can’t. One is about religion and cosmogony, the other is political. Both require too much thought to tag on the end of this.

So I’ll just talk a bit about New Year’s Eve. For the last bunch of years, at least five, I’ve been spending NYE at Warren and Tina’s party. It’s a group of friends that I don’t see much the rest of the year. It’s very hard for me to get to, it’s in Queens and involves a long train ride followed by a bus. This year I was also invited to Elisa and Jon’s party in Chelsea that I can get to in 45 minutes. I’m pretty sure I’ll be taking just one train though I can get a bit closer with two. Google maps says I can do it in 36 minutes and that driving would take 36. I like when the subway is as fast as driving. My transit app says it will take 44 minutes. That’s just what I figured Either way is better than the two hours to Queens. I’ll also meet some new people. I once read that the key to being “lucky” was putting yourself into new situations. They determined that by giving interviewing people that consider themselves lucky and those that don’t to see where their behavior differed.

I didn’t touch on it but NYE always has it’s typical set of social anxieties and things to get me depressed. I was told once that I could bring a date to a New Year’s Eve party. My thoughts were that if I had a date I wouldn’t be going to the party. I’d be spending the evening alone with her. That’s how I’d really like to spend NYE but that’s not an option. So I’ll go to this party and have fun, I love the people I know there and I’ll meet new people. Hey I’ll be with people. I haven’t talked to anyone since Saturday.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 31, 2015
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!