I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2003-01-19 - 12:55 a.m.

Everyone Into Hugh Pool

I have to get up at 8:30 tomorrow morning to play bridge. I'll have to actually thing so I am going to get to bed by 1:00 tonight come hell or high water. I am not going to stay online all night no matter who else is on. Of course I also said I wasn't going to talk to Leah and I just got off the phone with her. She's hard to resist.

I've just been wasting more time looking for images to use to illustrate this entry. I know it really isn't necessary but I like them. I went to the Bottom Line tonight for a required listening show, a great series they put on in cooperation with WFUV. Tonight's lineup was (pictured from left to right)Jess Klein, Jesse Harris, Josh Joplin, and Mulebone UK which is made up of Hugh Pool and John Ragusa

The show was hosted by WFUV's own Claudia Marshall. When she came out she gave a general "Hello" to the crowd and as she looked around she gave me an, "Oh hi." It reminded me of the time I saw a little girl in a pet shop looking at all the fish then she came upon a hamster and said, "Oh hi!" When she saw something that she could really relate to she had to express it. I've been promoted. I used to get a hug whenever I saw Claudia. Tonight I got a hug and a kiss on both cheeks. Have I mentioned that I love the people at WFUV?

The show was great and the artists came out in the reverse order of how much I liked them. I first saw Jess when she opened for Fruvous at the Bowery Ballroom. That is one of my famous bad date stories. I wasn't too impressed. I'm still not. She was my least favorite of the Voices on the Verge artists too. Not that there is anything wrong with her, she just doesn't connect with me.

Next up was Jesse Harris. I was looking forward to him because he wrote five of the songs on Norah Jones' album including Don't Know Why. His own material was far less jazzy. He was really good though and his band is first rate. He didn't blow me away but I'll see him again.

Josh Joplin was my discovery of the night. He fits in somewhere in the Andrew Kerr, Steven Kellogg universe. His name doesn't sound it but he's even a weird looking Jewish guy. He missed sound check because he was in Washington DC today for the anti-war march. My sister Alison was there too. He was funny, talented and a good musician. I'm going to go out of my way to see him again.

I've seen Hugh Pool before and I've seen Mulebone UK at the Downtown Messiah but I never saw them do their own materiel before. They are a two man jam band. They stole the show. Good thing there were last because no one would want to follow them. John Ragusa brings a full compliment of toys with him. Far more than he plays. He plays flutes, pennywhistles, jews harps, trumpet, and conch shells. You haven't lived till you've heard him play blues conch shell. Hugh plays the electric guitar and an electric Dobro resonator guitar. Their final number was a 13 minute jam based on a tradition folk song. If you like the blues you have to see these guys. They are amazing.

It is 12:51. I better finish up. Maybe tomorrow I'll talk about the dreams I had last night.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2003-01-19
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!