I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 28, 2012 - 10:55 a.m.

Metawriting

I'm starting this on time. That's good. I accomplished nothing yesterday which is very bad. The culprit once again was lack of sleep. The same goes for today and I figured out the problem. During the spring, summer, and fall, I sleep wearing breathing strips. They keep my nasal passages open. I stop for the winter when my allergies are at a minimum. I guess the warm winter has created an early start to allergies or maybe it has nothing to do with it but in any event I wake up at night having to breathe through my mouth. Then I have to have something to drink to make it not feel like something is nesting in my mouth and by then I'm wide awake. I still have some strips in the house and I'll start using them tonight.

Libby posted a picture of a t-shirt that said, "Virginia Doesn't Own My Vagina." My first reaction was, "That's the title of a country song." I've had the songwriting bug and dashed it out the chorus and posted it on her wall. Libby liked it, changed a line, and wrote the rest of the song and recorded it. Here it is.

She of course couldn't hear my melody but she came pretty close. I guess sometimes the lyrics and genre push you in a certain way. Mine was more Tammy Wynette almost to the point of parody. When I sang it, it was with a strong Appalachian accent. Maybe because I've been thinking about songwriting I was aware of why I heard the t-shirt as a song. It's the juxtaposition of Virginia and Vagina. That screams song to me. There's the triple alliteration, the almost rhyme, and the relationship between their meaning. That's a lot to pack into just two words. Then to add to my enjoyment I had been wondering if I could write a song from a woman's point of view.

My first attempt at writing a song was the exact opposite. Back in college my friends wrote a couple of lines, maybe it was just a title and a melody, and I expanding it out into an epic tale of America; I've Been Fucking My Way All Across the USA. You can tell the title is not mine. I hesitated about even typing it here. I don't use profanity but I think censorship is ridiculous so. Even if a kid reads this he or she will not be permanently scarred. He or she has heard it before. My rule is that I don't express myself with profanity but I'll quote without the silly f*#@<$^ circumlocution.

I just looked at my bin of entry ideas. I haven't put anything in it in a while. That's not good. Taking notes on what to write is important.

So when did I start to enjoy writing. I always enjoyed thinking about writing but the physical process used to repel me. Part of it is just computers. I was never a good typist and the labor involved was too much with all the corrections. Erasing backspace makes a big difference. So does the ability to make insertions. I almost always rearrange things as I write. I couldn't do that with paper and ink. Still it's more than that. Sitting here and typing has become an important part of my day. It makes me feel good. It has even become one of the things that define me. Maybe it's because it justifies the conceit that I've always had that I'm a creative person. Is it all about ego? Is that I like to talk. You might have noticed that I like to talk. Is it an extension of that? It's probably all these things and others too. People don't have simple explanations. That's why physics is an exact science and psychology for the most part isn't.

I'm going to keep it short today and not go off on another topic. There's some coherence now, I wrote about writing. Why bring in religion or politics? I have other things to do; things that I needed to do yesterday and didn't. I'll fight the Chronoklepts. When I advise people on writing a point I stress is less in more. I'll follow my own advice.

Tomorrow should be an easy entry. I'm going to see Ana�s Mitchell tonight at Joe's Pub. I might even have pictures. I might even do something interesting between class and the show. Now I'll so something I always find fascinating, cooking and eating breakfast.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 28, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!