I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

May 01, 2016 - 1:07 p.m.

Left and Right

After being on Facebook for ten years I finally learned that you can make voice and video calls via messenger. As my phone is broken that's what I've been using. I had a nice talk LORi yesterday. She did not get my messages. I'm not the only one with phone problems. Wow I just went down a depressing line of thought. I don't need to do that now, or ever

I'm going to write about politics. The Left has two problems, it acts too much like the Right and it doesn't act enough like the Right. There's a lot of dissatisfaction on the Right along the lines of "We elected these guys to repeal Obamacare, get rid of illegal aliens, and end gay marriage and we still have Obamacare, illegal aliens, and gay marriage spread to the entire country." They are furious and so now they support Ted Cruz or Donald Trump who they think won't let it go on. They seem to have totally forgotten that we have a Democratic President and that means compromises have to be made. Now many on the Left are doing the same thing. Obama has been in office for over seven years and we have all this inequality! They ignore that there's a Republican congress and except for his first year in office there have been at least enough Republicans in the Senate to filibuster. They have used that power to block just about every Democratic initiative. During that one year where Obama had a free hand he was busy dealing with the country's worst economic crisis since the Great Depression. The Republicans did everything they could to stop them from doing that. Because the filibuster majority depended on Ted Kennedy who was dying and couldn’t regularly attend the Senate even that proved difficult. I heavily criticized and will still criticize Obama for trying too hard to be non-partisan and starting his negotiations by giving away too much. The size of the stimulus should have been far larger than it was. A majority of the senate might very well have gone along with more than he asked for but we'll never know because he didn't ask. But it was still far better than doing nothing as the right wanted. Unemployment peaked at 10% not 13%. He did that and got the ACA passed too. But once Kennedy was replaced by Scott Brown things had to slow down. The Republicans would not let anything get done. I understand being impatient. My political awareness started in 1968 and starting with that election the Republicans won 5 of the next six presidential elections. It's the price the country paid for the passing of the Civil Rights Acts. Now the Democrats have one the popular vote in five of the last six elections, though they lost the electoral college election, the one that matters in 2000. That set things way back. Clinton was my last choice in the primaries in 1992, as Carter was in 1976, but I worked hard for him as any Democrat would be better than the alternative. And he pleasantly surprised me. Yes, I was appalled at ending "Welfare as we know it." And had problems with the Crime Bill, but the country did so much better than it had before. It was the only period where the real median wage rose. The economy really was better, not just for the rich but for everyone. It's starting to rise now. It's taken so long as the Great Recession was so devastating. With unemployment so high or so long workers lost bargaining power. They are starting to regain it.

My worry is that enough on the Left let their disappointment will lead them to disengage from politics and not emulate the thing that the Right gets right. The Left is only there at full strength at presidential elections. Every off-year election too many take off. That has let the Right take control of congress and the state houses. North Carolina went for Obama; how did right wing extremists take over its government? They went to the polls in 2014 and the Left didn't So now we get the Bathroom Bill. And if we let it happen again in 2018 they will get to do the reapportioning after the next census. They'll get to draw the congressional districts in their favor again. And they'll try and thwart everything a Democratic president will try to do.

OK, I now have to pack up my life. If you know me, you know that I'm not looking forward to that. I am looking forward to breakfast.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile May 01, 2016
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!