I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 25, 2012 - 10:48 a.m.

Preperation F (Falcon Ridge)

I have no time for a real edition of Wise Madness but I'll write a short one.

My bell doesn't work so if I have a delivery coming they need to call. I ordered a camera from Woot. I let FedEx know that. They didn't call on three attempts. Only after the third was I told that they can't promise to call. I had to go to the warehouse to pick it up. I wasted two days waiting in my apartment for them when I had things to do.

So now today I have to rent a car, pick up my camping gear at Gene Isabel's then go shopping. Tomorrow I leave for Falcon Ridge.

Every year I have to rearrange The Budgiedome schedule the last weekend. This year I had to do it today as one of our headliners canceled. It's stressful but I actually get a kick out of it too. It gets the adrenaline rushing.

Yesterday I went to the Met/Nats game. I was supposed to go early with Warren and go to a business of baseball talk for season ticket holders. Because of what happened with FedEx I had to miss that which sucked. I feel worse about having to cancel with Warren than missing the talk. That's how it usually goes.

Oh and the Mets lost 5-1. They are 1-10 since the All-Star break. I thought they were doing it with mirrors then right before the break I thought maybe they were for real. My first thought was right. I wish I were wrong. At least Sandy Alderson is better than the previous Mets' management and didn't mortgage the future for a tiny chance to win this year. They are not ready for prime time yet. To be honest the only everyday player that I feel confident in is David Wright. Tejada and Murphy are doing great but I fear they just have the best mirrors. Thole is an acceptable catcher. Not a star but very few catchers are. Their best hope are their minor league pitchers and Dickey and maybe Santana if he can stay healthy a few more years.

Now I have to squeeze all my FRFF prep into one day. Wish me luck. I'll try to update tonight but if I can't you'll hear from me after Falcon Ridge. Till then read what I was doing five and ten years ago. Of course I was at Falcon Ridge not updating then most years.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 25, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!