I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 09, 2007 - 11:23 a.m.

the Four Finger Puppets

I had all weekend. How come I just wrote my technical math quiz? Well at least I got it done.

My sister made a slide show of her pictures from our seder. Go look at them just for the finger puppets. Did I tell you about them? There were puppets to illustrate parts the four questions. One has bread on one side and matzoh on the other. The one everyone had trouble figuring out was a chair on one side and a recliner on the other. We didn't realize it was a recliner till we saw it written on one arm.

Seder Slide Show

Oh yes. You'll notice that there is one person missing from the pictures of the guests at the table. I am the forgotten brother.

I am in the photos with the finger puppets because I of course couldn't resist them.

The Mets have lost two games in a row. Both went down to the final at bat. Diana, Larry's wife, promised me they weren't going to lose this year so this took me by surprise. I haven't stopped crying from the disappointment.

Speaking of baseball my team, The Nashional Batnoses, are in sixth place in a twelve-team league after one week. I will keep you updated as the season progresses.

Lena is flying back to Israel on Wednesday and taking Amtrak back to New York tomorrow. Picking her up is a bit awkward because of her luggage. I'm going to take the train in to the Penn Station, meet her and well both take the LIRR back to Queens and leave her luggage in my car. If her train is on time we'll have a late lunch at Uncle Jack's. Our tentative plans are to go to then go back to the City and go to the circus that night. If she doesn't feel up to that we'll either stay home or go to a movie.

Why do they schedule all the good stuff at the same time? Anais Mitchell is performing at a house concert in Asbury Park on Sunday night. The problem is I'm seeing We're About 9 that night at Gene's. I'm seeing them the night before at Chris's too. If Anais's show wasn't so far I might go anyway on the principle of maximizing the diversity of my musical experience but Gene is a friend who lives close by and Asbury Park is far and two tolls away. I did forego Gene's WA9 show as the back end of back to back house concerts with them a few years ago to see Mad Agnes.

I had a discussion with Lena last night about Israel's airport security. They can be very hard on people that aren't Jewish. Now when talking to Lena I was heavily critical of the practice. Yes they face risks that we might not but that doesn't make discrimination either right or even useful. Israel's security is even harmed as it alienates people. Israel is losing the battle for the hearts and minds of the world.

The thing is if I were talking to somebody else I'd feel the same way but my emphasis would be different. I would still attack the practice but I'd defend Israel. Yes profiling at the airports is wrong and immoral. Fear makes people do stupid things. And that's the point. It isn't just Israel. Look how many horrible things the US has done in the aftermath of 9/11. We have turned or backs on the basic principles this country was founded on. We are imprisoning people without trial or legal recourse. We are even torturing people. As bad as we are the French, who are such harsh critics of ours, did far worse during the war in Algeria. The British were no angels during The Troubles in Northern Ireland. To single out Israel is ridiculous. Saudi Arabia treats non-Muslims 1000 times worse than Israel treats gentiles.

It is all about perspective.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 09, 2007
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!