I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 07, 2011 - 10:07 a.m.

Feasts and Orgies and Therapy

I'm starting this late; I had computer issues, now I have to rush. I hate being rushed when I write. Of course I also have no idea what I'm going to write. For most types of writing that's a mortal sin, for blogging it can sometimes work out.

There is simply no good shopping in my neighborhood. I pay much higher prices for greatly inferior products. I can't believe what I had to pay for butter. I needed cold meds and the drug store had no generics. The only saving grace is the produce store.

I got bagels for the first time in ages. That meant walking over a mile. Of course I don't have to worry about parking and I enjoy walking. The main negative is that they aren't as warm when I get home. I would have taken the bus not one came in all the time I was walking. They are supposed to run more often than that. Something was wrong.

I performed a culinary experiment last night. I roasted plantain. I made it just like roasted potatoes. I even used the crinkle cutter. I brushed the pieces with olive oil and roasted them at 450° for 20 minutes. It wasn't terrible but it wasn't as good as roasted potatoes or plantains cooked in other ways. There are several things I can try to see if it can be improved. I used a green plantain because its' starchier and closer to a potato. Maybe it would work better with a riper one. I think it was overcooked. Next time I'll just try 15 minutes and see how that works. That's what 90% of new dishes substituting ingredients then tweaking.

I got an unusual shoutout from Claudia Marshall at WFUV today. The question of the day was Guilty Pleasures. I wrote in this:

More than a decade ago we had a discussion on guilty pleasures on the Fruhead newgroup, yes that's how far we are going back, newsgroups. I said the Monkees. I was then convinced that they were nothing to feel guilty about. but I'll still say them since I still feel guilty not feeling guilty about loving a band that was created for a TV show. Normally I'd go for the Carole King songs but how can I feel guilty about anything she wrote so I'll suggest Last Train to Clarksville By Boyce and Hart

Claudia quoted "I still feel guilty not feeling about loving a band that was created for a TV show;" and said she didn't know what kind of therapy I needed. Nah, I'm not a freak.

That post on AMMF, the Moxy Früvous news group was my first interaction with Carey. She's the one that convinced me that I shouldn't feel guilty. I only discovered that in conversation some time later. At the time she was just some Frühead I didn't know. She will defend the Monkees to her death but that's just because she has a crush on Peter Tork. Carey has crushes on lots of people. Not like me. I just collect fiancés. I'm serious. She also has a harem.

I've been thinking about therapy. In all seriousness I could use some. I'm always tempted to write about things here but even I know that isn't appropriate. But it might be interesting. I self-aware and analytical. I come up with interesting things when thinking about my problems. I'd just have to find a way to erase your memory when you finished reading it. Till then you'll just get me talking around everything.

I better make breakfast and get ready for school. I'm allowed to have a short entry now and then. Right? I shouldn't feel guilty.

I know why I'm having trouble writing today. This was the interorgy weekend. Last weekend was the big international orgy in Toronto. Next weekend is NERFA. Folk music and orgies are synonymous. It's the only reason anyone goes. So this weekend seemed dull. No orgies.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 07, 2011
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!