I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 09, 2008 - 1:46 a.m.

I don't care about what you think about my caring about what other people think

We are in the idiotic phase of campaign reporting. Hillary has been ahead in the national polls all along. She had been behind in Iowa all along. Then Obama wins Iowa, a small, atypical state with a Byzantine caucus system and people acted like that was world-shaking news that transformed the elections. Do you know how many winners of the Iowa caucuses went on to become president? Zero! Now Hillary wins New Hampshire and it is considered a huge comeback. It is another small atypical state. It also means hardly anything. This is the idiocy that happens in every sports reporting, we really should have better in the elections. How about a rule, not a law, a voluntary rule of thumb, that every news source should devote at least as much time to covering the candidates on the issues as on the horse race aspect of the election?

By the way I've always leaned towards Hillary but feel fine with any of the Dems. It is really always been between Hillary and Obama and the one issue that I feel strongly about where one is clearly better than the other is health care. Hillary is in favor of universal coverage with mandates while Obama's program is less far reaching and unworkable as it would allow people to not become part of the system. That is economically unfeasible. It also gives the Republicans and the vested interests of the medical and pharmaceutical industries support in their inevitable battle against change to the system. He claims the mantle of change yet he is attacking Hillary's plan from the right.


What's all this then? Who hijacked this entry? I don't jump straight into politics! Where's the lame excuse why this entry will suck? Where's the recap of my day? Let's start again.


Once again I did pretty much nothing today so don't expect a world shaking entry. I did leave the house. I went to Popeye's for dinner then went food shopping. It was more to get out of the house than anything else. Not that I accomplished much while I was home. When am I going to install that external hard drive I bought? I think it will take all of a few minutes to do. The hard part is clearing off a bit of room on my desk for it.

When I was shopping I bought steak for the first time in ages. In the interest of frugality I bought ribeye steaks. I am going to make them blackened so I thought I could get by with a cheaper cut. I'll let you know how that goes. I'm making one of them tomorrow.

In my last entry I discussed what my friends think of me. One of the standard responses to that is, "What do you care what other people think?" As a matter of fact that's the title of a book by one of my true heroes, Richard Feynman. Normally I'd say that I don't care. Thinking about it though it isn't really true. First off I wasn't talking about people in general, I was talking about my friends. There is a big difference. I am not going to dress or talk or act or censor my opinions in any way to be popular or out of fear of what other people will think. On the other hand I really do care how my friends treat me and that is affected by what they think of me. It is intellectually dishonest for me to say otherwise and I think the same can be said for he vast majority of people. On the other hand I would like to think my friends would give me some leeway. I forgot what prompted it but this weekend I said something to LORi and she said something to the effect of, "I could ... because you'll love me anyway."

It just isn't something with a yes or no answer. Do I care what other people think? The answer depends on what they are thinking about.

In recent years I have not had as much social contact as I'd like. That too is a hard thing to state precisely. It isn't just a matter of the amount of social contact but also its nature. What can I do about it? I don't know. I really do try and stick to the old standby, "be yourself."

Now on a totally different note I realized recently that three people have called me famous. That is an odd think since I am not famous. What I am is well known in certain small circles. The first time was the most ridiculous and the therefore the funniest. Someone thought Carey and I were famous for being frequent posters on the DVN Yahoo group. You can read about it here; Who is this Hedwig Bob. It also tells about one of the best weekends of my life.

The other two times I was called famous for my Budgiedome activities. So yes if the people you are speaking about are folk festival junkies from the Northeast who stay up all night listening to music at the campfires there is a decent chance they have heard of the Budgiedome. I don't think that counts as famous but as the two people who said that are people I respect; it did make me feel good. It isn't really a big deal though and there are so many other things I'd gladly trade it in for.

Part of my problem is that three of my best friends have moved out of the NYC area in the last year or so, Gella, Melissa, and Lisa. Those are my three oldest local Fruhead friends and the three I spent the most time with. Great Big Sea is playing in New York this month and I'll go but I have nobody to get excited about that with.

OK time to wrap this up and finish watching The Lion in Winter on TV. I'm watching it on Free Movies on Demand. I've seen it before but it is one of my favorites. I'll leave you with the CDs on my changer.

  1. Mike Errico - All In
  2. Anthony da Costa - New CD Preview
  3. We're About 9 - Live Wherever You Are
  4. Laura Bell - Longing for a Place Already Gone

Oh yes one more piece of politics before I go. If you support the constitution and the rights enshrined in it and basic decency then click on the button below this entry and sign the petition to close the Guantanamo prison.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 09, 2008
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!