I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

September 01, 2012 - 11:15 a.m.

Defending Republicans

Once again I didn't do anything worth writing about. Well my internal clock was brilliant. When I woke up this morning I said it feels like it's 9:05. I hit it on the nail.

You know how I always complain about people that don't realize that they take up space? They are now congregating at supermarkets. The Pathmark near me has one door for everyone entering and leaving the story. Twice in the past week women stopped while they were in the door to talk on their cell phones. I can't believe that someone would deliberately block all access to a store so they must think people can walk right through them. So you think Trader Joe's patrons are better? A woman parked her stroller right at the base of the ramp, blocking it, while she talked to her friend. I saw another woman with luggage on wheels glance at her, then walk past, and struggled to lug the luggage up the stairs. Here's another clue for you all, the walrus was Paul. Um no, wrong clue. You take up space. People can't walk through you. Don't stand in doorways or narrow paths or anyplace where you block people from getting where they are trying to go. OK Got that? You've been warned.

I didn't watch the Republican Convention but there are a few things I want to say about it anyway. People have been getting on Clint Eastwood for his empty chair monologue. I'm not going to say it was good. I'm not going to say it was funny. I'm not going to say it succeeded. I am going to say that it is not right to imply that Eastwood is getting senile or blaming it on dementia. That is wrong on two counts. First it is ageist. Yes Eastwood is an octogenarian but he is still active and directing and shows no signs of dementia. You can't see ever stumble by an older person as a sign of Alzheimer's. Secondly it isn't fair to him as an artist. I don't agree with his politics but Eastwood is an artist and one not afraid of taking chances. He has always had comedic ambitions. He made the ridiculous films with the orangutan. I didn't like them, they were artistic failures but I give him a lot of credit for taking the chance. Any artist worthy of the name is going to have failures. If he doesn't he isn't being ambitious enough. That's how I view his performance at the convention. He isn't Bob Newhart. He couldn't pull off a conversation with someone that wasn't there and make it funny. It's like Letterman's Oprah/Uma bit at the Oscars, a dud. Not a disgrace.

I am disappointed that someone who takes a progressive outlook on so many issues would support Romney. Jackie Robinson endorsed Nixon. These things happen whether they make sense or not.

Romney has been getting a lot of heat for their using Obama's slightly skewed syntax when he said, "You didn't build that" as the centerpiece of his campaign. People are calling it dishonest, even an outright lie. The critics are the ones being unfair. Have you considered that Romney and everyone the Republican Convention might have a language disability? It isn't dyslexia because it wasn't in writing but it is the same idea. They lack the ability to automatically correct small errors in syntax. We shouldn't mock them for that. We should try to help them. Imagine if you couldn't figure out that "Driving down the street I saw a dog" meant that the speaker was driving not the dog. Would you like people to make fun of you? That is not the liberal way. We try to accommodate those with disabilities. So here is my offer to everyone who thinks that Obama was referring to the business, not the schools, and roads, and infrastructure. First recognize that you have a disability. There is no shame in that. Then ask people who don't have that disability to explain what politicians say to you. Remember don't ask anyone who has the same issue. That just perpetuates the problem. Ask me. I'll gladly explain what they said. You are probably missing lots of things now. Like when Ryan castigates Obama for stealing money from Medicare, money was just cost cuts that he negotiates. You probably didn't even catch that Ryan then cut exactly the same amount of spending from his budget but without the cost cuts so it will just buy less services. It's easy to miss something like that if you have a problem processing language. Remember don't be embarrassed. I admit to my anxiety issues here, you can admit to your language issues. You don't want to cast your votes based on misunderstanding what people say do you? Of course not. I'll make the same offer to Mr. Romney. I bet he wouldn't deny global warming and basic economics if he could understand what people were saying. Romney wouldn't keep claiming that Obama went around apologizing for America if his disability didn't lead him to think it was true. Romney isn't dishonest he's grammatically challenged.

That's the kind of thing that goes on in my head all the time. Well that's the kind of thing that I'm not ashamed to admit to My Gentle Readers. There's a lot more about platypuses and the like that is not for the weak of heart.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile September 01, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!