I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 01, 2013 - 10:35 a.m.

When I'm Up

So the rollercoaster continues. I saw an ad yesterday by somebody that had a renter for July that pulled out the last moment, the reverse of my situation. I was asked if I could get there by 8:40 to see the place. I was able to do that if I rushed. So I did. I took a cab to the Metro North then the train to Grand Central. I still didn�t have the address when I left. I wrote from the train and said I was on my way but needed it. She wrote back and said the place was rented. I got to Penn Station and had felt bad enough that I needed a double to get over it. A double dark chocolate gelato that is. The place is Espresso at Madison and 42nd street. The Gelato is great but the loud rap music drove me nuts. Why blast any kind of music? I don't get it at all.

I then had to find a bank, I need cash. I used the app on my phone and it said there was a branch .06 miles away. I was actually standing in front of it.

I got my money and then checked to see when the next train was. That was dumb. I should have checked as soon as I came in. I had just missed a train and the next was in 56 minutes. I could have finished the ice cream on the train and made it.

You might have noticed things have not been well for me.

I have absolutely nothing on my calendar for the week and I need things to make me happy. Any suggestions? Anyone doing something good for the Fourth?

I'm working on not being depressed. It requires work.

So what�s good. One thing is that I have more Gentle Readers than ever. Wise Madness had 1741 hits in June. That might be a record. It was far more than any of the previous 12 months.

My fantasy baseball team is still tied for first place with the hated TSC with 68 points and we won our second week in a row. I am now a Christian, a fan of Chris Davis and Chris Tillman both of the Baltimore Orioles. I pay Chris Davis all of 70� and his line is .332 31 80 0. Tillman also makes 70� and he has won 10 games with a 3.68 ERA and a .1296 WHIP. They are bonding me and Pat. They propel his O's and my Noses.

Wow it is black outside and I have to go out today. Is the world coming to an end? That wouldn�t be all bad, Where to live would become moot.

An ad I answered in Craig's List seemed too good to be true. It was. It was an obvious scam. The guy couldn't show me the apartment because he is out of town with his wife who has cancer but I could put down a $400 deposit with him through paypal. I reported the ad. Of course it was written in broken English.

I had a whole religion thing planned in my head last night but it seems to have fled to a sunnier clime

I'm going to not worry that today's edition is short and doesn�t have much of a point. It is where my mind is this morning. The deep thoughts are staying buried along with the funny ones,

There are songs I sing to keep my spirits up. I'll leave you with one of them. It's Canada day so it fits.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 01, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!