I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 01, 2017 - 6:18 p.m.

So Many Friends Moved to Nashville, I Canty Take It

I'm sleepy but I love My Gentle Readers so much I'm going to write instead of taking a nap. Perhaps that's "before taking a nap."

I almost responded to a political comment on Facebook. I regained my good sense just in time. Now back to writing about what I know best, me.

Yesterday, Dan and I went to see Caitlin Canty at Rockwood Music Hall. My plan was to go to my PO Box, then to Trader Joe's and then to Rockwood. I left much later than I planned. I just missed the last bus that would definitely get me to my PO Box before the post office closed. There were delays so I didn't even try and make the post office and went straight to Trader Joe's. I didn't need much there, nothing that was vital. Then the line stopped moving. I don't know why so I bailed on that and went to Rockwood. I arranged to meet Dan there an hour before show time and we'd grab dinner first. Then Dan was late so we decided to eat a relaxed meal afterward. That was better, even an hour was not that much time if we wanted to go in to the show early enough to get good seats. This way we were the first ones in and grabbed the Statler and Waldorf seats. I'm not sure which of us is which. Dan's a bit young to pull that off, it works better with Fred.

Where does Caitlin fit in the musical spectrum? That was not a rhetorical question. Still no answer? Fine, I'll try and come up with something myself. She's not a sensitive chick with a guitar. She's closer to folk with a side order of country. She's accompanied by a classical guitar player who opened for her. I knew you'd ask me his name. I knew I wouldn't remember it. I want to say Julian. It's not Julian. I don't think it's even close to Julian. I just want to say it. When playing with Caitlin he primarily played electric guitar. That's just like classical, right? They are closer to each other than steel string acoustic; they both require a lighter touch. I just made that connection. I am probably wrong about it as this is far outside my area of expertise. I just know what I learned by osmosis from talking to Pete Kennedy.

There was a pretty good crowd, bigger than Caitlin expected. She thought her brother corralled everyone. I think it was all Caitlin. From our perch in the mezzanine I saw Howard sitting below us. I sent him a text, "look up and to your right." I love stalking like that. Howard laughed so I guess he did too. I knew one other person in the crowd, Steve. He was sitting right next to Howard. They don't know each other. They are both people that go to far more shows than me. Those people exist. I make sure to know them as I can point to them and say, "There are people crazier than me." We all like to be graded on a curve.

After the show, we headed to the back room. I introduced Howard and Steve to each other and to Dan. Then we went over to talk to Caitlin. I used to see her all the time. I knew her socially before I had seen her perform. Then she moved away; I miss haring her music and I miss talking to her. Caitlin is part of the New York folk music diaspora in Nashville. There are too many people in that group. With the help of Facebook, I'll make a list.

Meg Braun
Kristin Andreassen & Critter Eldridge
Amy Speace
Miss Tess
Anthony da Costa
Cliff Seltzer (presenter)
Jeff Fassano (photographer)
Melissa Greener
Jordan Tice
Michaela Anne
Nashville is ruining my social life.

Dan and I had dinner at our usual place, the Remedy Diner. I tried something new, the Buffalo chicken wrap. It was very good. I forgot to buy wings the other day, maybe I'll try using the Buffalo sauce on one of the breast filets I bought and serve it in flatbread. I can't do it tonight; the breasts are frozen. We had a great Bengali waiter. I know he was from Bangladesh because I asked him where he was from; I couldn't place his accent. After that we got friendly. I bet Dan remembers his name. I don't. I want to call him Julian. We ended up talking for more than an hour. That's the point of diners. You can sit and talk for hours and nobody bothers you. We couldn't stay for hours because we both had to get home. I thought I had plenty of time to make the last bus but then I had a long wait for the then the and then the . Making the last bus would be close. I got off the train and gave a sigh of relief, I had four minutes to spare. I walked down to street level and saw my bus, three minutes early! I ran to make and I did. Whew.

Jane flew off today to go to her granddaughter's high school graduation; it's just me and Bernie here. I took him to the doctor today, that's why I didn't write this morning. It's also related to why I was sleepy. I'm not sleepy anymore. Now I'm going to go out and get some ice cream before dinner. That's the right way to eat. If I don't have room for dinner and ice cream I want to make sure to have the ice cream. I hate shopping on the island but I might mosey over to the supermarket to see if they have any corn on the cob. I'm craving that.

I'm tempted to write about Trump pulling the US out of the Paris Climate Accord. I'm not going to because I'd be preaching to the choir. Let's just say that I'm sad and I'm scared. It's going to take a few years for us to pull out, the accord is designed that way. A lot can happen in a few years, I might die, Trump might die, and who knows, maybe the horse will learn to sing.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 01, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!