I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 08, 2011 - 4:06 p.m.

House of the Rising Brother Sun

Ready for a mid-afternoon edition of edition? No matter what you answer here it comes.

I had some drama in school yesterday. One of my students cheated on the test and the retest. He then asked to drop the class with a Withdraw Passing not a Withdraw Failing. I normally give that but not after he cheated. He begged me and I said no. I love his excuse for not doing the homework, "I have other classes." Yes and nobody else does. He was practically crying when I turned him down. I found myself just getting sterner and sterner. He accepted no responsibility for what happened. The thing is I'm a softy. I kept seeing visions of his face and emailed him late last night that I'd let him Withdraw Passing. He hasn't gotten back to me I'm not sure I want him to. I'm torn. I wish my school had a working policy towards cheating instead of just dumping everything on me. We have a procedure but I was told to not use it.

After school I stopped at the holiday market and bought myself one of the treats I have been planning, a black truffle sausage. I had tasted a sample and it was great. The thing is of course that it's expensive. I bought one and I intend on using it as an ingredient, not something to be eaten by itself. I'll probably mainly use it in omelets but I'll see what else needs some extra flavor. I also bought a hot German sausage for dinner. When I got home I didn't go for the frozen mashed potatoes but made them from scratch. I added the garlic in a different way. I put the pressed clove in with the milk and butter before I nuking and mashing them with the potatoes. That is the best way yet. Nuking seems to bring out the best in garlic.

So why didn't I update this morning? I had a concert! Yes in the morning. It was put on by those noted impresari Rona not Wrona and Lori not LORi. Once a year they bring musicians to their school to perform and have workshops with the students. Today's was Brother Sun. I helped arranged it and was invited to the show. I sold their merch to the teachers during the break. This was an early show, that's why I couldn't write this morning. I wanted to be there by 9:30 AM but had the address wrong. I had to call Lori once I was there for the right one. It's easy for me to get to the school, one bus and I'm there.

When I got to the door Lori was waiting for me and we went to the gym/auditorium. It had a very nice stage, a great setup. I sat up front with Rona and Lori. I took pictures and a video, I'll get to them next time.

The show was great. I was impressed at how well they sounded that early. As Christine Lavin says, "a dedicated folksinger gets up at the crack of no one whether she has to or not." A singer's voice is not in top shape for singing that early. Good thing that Pat Wictor, Joe Jencks, and Greg Greenway have plenty of voice to spare. Nobody can doubt their vocal chops.

High school students are a tough audience and they held their attention while not just singing but discussing activism. That is part of the program, the music is integrated into a lesson. It would be wonderful if every student in every school could be exposed to something like this.

Brother Sun could easily have been one of those bands I call too earnest. Despite the often spiritual and political subject matter they avoid that by never losing their sense of humor. They know that they can joke about serious subjects and that taking a left turn into silliness can highlight, not distract from the message. They do this without being at all calculated. If you've ever talked to any of them you see they are just being themselves; three people that are fun to talk to. I rarely listen to singers because I like their voices or their sound. I like singers because what they do with their voices and the creativity of their harmony. Brother Sun does that well but I have to admit their sound is special enough that I take notice.

After the show there was lunch in the teacher's lounge. We had pizza. I never have pizza enough.

Pat lives in New York and he's the one in the band that I know the best by far. He's a friend. The way it worked out I ended up talking more to Joe and Greg. That was great. I got to know them a lot better.

I also got to hang out with Bob, Rona's husband. I found out that he can teach me to use a smart board. My school has them but never taught me to use them. He's going to show me between semesters. That will make teaching much easier for me.

After lunch came the workshops and I took the bus home. My original plan was to go shopping today but I'm too tired. I figured out how I can take the bus to Trader Joe's and Stop & Shop. I'm excited about that. I miss my usual shopping. I need to get some quality food in the house. I just have to find a time I can do it now.

I got up at 7:30 today so I could make the concert and didn't get to bed till after 1 AM and was up in the middle of the night for an hour so I think it's time I take a nap now.

I just realized I forgot to take something out for dinner. Maybe I'll just have peanut butter tonight. I had the pizza for lunch. I can get away with that. I can have one cold meal.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 08, 2011
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!