I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 04, 2014 - 12:59 p.m.

Blue Potatoes

There are lots of negative things I could write about today. I will write about some of them. Let's see if some good things come in too. I am after all a cheerful hobbit.

Let's start with a big thing that I'm ashamed of. Today is Election Day and I'm not voting. why? I'm not registered. I get an anxiety attack every time I think of registering. It has to do with proving I live in the rooming house I live in. There is no paper trail. It also has to do with acknowledging that this is where I live. I do not want to live here. This brings up all sort of things I would rather not think about.

I am political. Anyone who reads this or even more is my friend on Facebook knows how much I care about politics. It's my duty to vote and I'm not. I'm not feeling guilty as I understand why but I'm unhappy about it.

Yesterday was of course therapy. It was a fruitful session. We talked about uncomfortable things. I sometimes think she doesn't push me enough. Of course I hate when she pushes me. Doesn't mean I don't need to be pushed. One thing I found funny was that she patted me on my back for patting myself on the back for doing something .She was not so much happy that I did it as happy that I appreciated that I gave myself credit for doing what was right. for me.

After therapy I didn't do my usual culinary indulging of myself. I should have. I did get bagels and go to the Farmers Market at Union Square. I'm not someone you would guess would do that. I don't eat veggies and I don't care about organic but I like their potatoes and apple cider. Then headed up to m PO box. I had mail but nothing important. that was disappointing. then I headed home and I stayed there. I didn't go out again even though there were two shows I could have gone to with friends. Sara and Alex were playing at Pianos and Seth at Bar Chord. But I needed another day of not going out.

My therapy food was dinner. I made bratwurst. I didn't have any rolls so I had it on a bagel and put on a slice of American Cheese product; I got creative with my blue potato. I think I made cottage fries. It's almost potato chips. I cut it into thin slices, coated them with olive oil, and baked them. This is what they looked like before they went in the oven.

I had never made them like this and didn't know how long to cook them. When I roast potatoes I cook them for 20 minutes at 425˚F. These are so much thinner I tried less time, 15 minutes. That was perfect! they weren't chips but crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. This is what he complete meal looked like.

Doesn't that look good? I washed it down with fresh apple cider. It's not fancy and maybe not too healthy but I bet I enjoyed my dinner at much as any of My Gentle Readers.

What I was missing was dessert. I should have picked up something. I did take care of it later.

I spent the night talking to people online and watching A Trip to the Moon the Georges M�li�s film that was so important in Hugo. I also watched part of a documentary about M�li�s. It lied it said he built the world's first movie studio. He didn't, it was Edison several years earlier, the fabled Black Mariah. Still it was fun to watch after watching a movie about him.

I then fed my sweet tooth by making my first hot chocolate of the year. I almost used it up. I have to buy more now. It was Ghirardelli's and very good.

When I went to sleep a mosquito started attacking me. It buzzed my ears and bit my hands. I was so itchy I had to take allergy meds. I finally got out of bed and had more sweets, I finished the ice cream. I have to buy more of that now.

I've spent a lot of time talking and reading the new FHDC groups on Facebook. I'm reconnecting with so many people. I'm enjoying it but of course it means reconnecting with people I don't like too. I have actually blocked one of them. He is so mean spirited I couldn't stand reading his posts any more. Some of my friends have done the same. I'm sort of amused seeing some of the other people I would rather not deal with. I realized the difference between FB and FHDC groups is that I tend to read everything on FHDC instead of ignoring people I don't like or posts that bother me. Of course the same thing does happen on Facebook too. One thing I'm noticing that bothers me is people that take things too seriously. They get in a huff over things that were not meant to be taken seriously. I sometimes want to say, This is not one of the 1,000,000 greatest problems in the world, why are you getting all worked up over it? It drives me nuts! I should start a campaign to stop it! That's what I'm going to do! I am starting, People Against Other People Making Way Too Big A Deal Over Trivial Things! Join PAOPMWTBADOTT now!

Wow I have very little on my calendar this week. I should have gone out last night. I'm going to be a recluse. Well not quite. tomorrow I get to see Katrina! She's in from New Hampshire and we are having brunch tomorrow. I never get to see her. We don't have post brunch plans but I'm thinking maybe the High Line as it's right near where she has to catch her bus.

Tomorrow I should have a photo essay for you. OK now I'm going to eat breakfast, go to my PO box again, and go to Trader Joe's. Not exciting but on the bright side it looks like I'll be eating dinner home again. I like doing that.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 04, 2014
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!