I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 07, 2012 - 12:17 p.m.

Bright Bright Lights Big City well Surburb

Wow the Chronoklepts have been working overtime today, which is ironic when you think about it. Are there metachronoklepts that make the chronoklepts procrastinate? I'd like to think so. In fact I want that job. I'm going to apply for it ... tomorrow.

Last night I went to my second concert of the new year, Barnaby Bright at the Garden Stage. I went with Erika. Well I was supposed to go with Erika on the LIRR. She got on at Penn Station and I was going to meet her at Jamaica. The Jamaica station is not far from my house, 1.2 miles. I've walked there a number of times just for exercise and to explore the neighborhood. I didn't want to walk there at night when it was chilly so I took the subway. It is all of four stops from my house though I have to start by going one stop in the wrong direction at most times since the E train which goes there skips my stop. Google Maps says the trip should take 13 minutes. I gave myself a half an hour. I missed the train. Why? First I had a long wait for the first train. Then I just missed the second train though I might have been able to make it if people hadn't been so slow going up the steps. If I had known which car to go in to be next to the steps I could have easily made it. Then the next train for some reason was skipping stops including the one for the LIRR, the busiest stop. I can't figure that one out. Then finally when I got to the station I raced up to the platform and the train was there. I should have made it but a guy was on the stairs, in the middle so I couldn't pass him even when I said, "excuse me" and he wasn't moving. I finally got past him, ran on the platform and the door closed right in front of me. ARRGGGHHHH! Next time I'm taking the bus. Google maps says it takes the same amount of time but there are no transfers. I had to wait a half an hour for the next train. Now that wasn't so bad. What was bad was that I wanted to have that time to talk to Erika on the train. That was the only time we'd have alone to really talk. Thank god for cell phones. I was able to call Erika and tell her what happened.

When I got there Erika had saved us seats down front, exactly where I wanted even though I hadn't discussed it with her. I said hi, put my stuff down, and went to talk to Becky and Nathan since I was doing the merch for them. It was set up already but I counted it out and went back to my seat. When I got back Erika had been joined by Chris. I knew he was coming and had told Erika to save him a seat. Gene and Isabel were there too. It isn't often that I'll go to concerts on consecutive nights in different counties and have anyone else go to both but not only were Gene and Isabel at the Tribute to Joni Mitchell's "Blue" but Stephen and Joanne who run the Garden Stage were too.

Usually Joanne introduces the acts but last night she introduced Gene who introduced Barnaby Bright. She discovered them when they played at Gene and Isabel's house. That is the epitome of the folk world. It is the antithesis of corporate. It isn't people in the "industry" calculating ways to create buzz, it comes from the grass roots. Music gets played because it is good, not because somebody said that it's hot.

This was my tenth time seeing Barnaby Bright in the last year. Have I run out of things to say about them? My plan was to write that today. But I did notice something last night. Many of their songs sound spooky. They use unusual harmonies. They followed their spookiest song and my favorite, Castle Rock with If I Came Back as a Song. I've heard the song a million times, Well OK less than that since I've only seen them 11 times plus listening to the CD. The juxtaposition and the way my mind worked it hit me that it sounds like a Monkees song! I spent the next half deciding if it was a Davy or a Mickey song. I knew it was Davy but I wanted to make sure and kept switching off to see if that really was better. It is and Davy does his little dance and plays the maracas. After the show I told Becky who said I should tell Nathan because he's a big Monkees fan. I did and he got excited and thought there was no question but that it is a Davy song. The Monkees were a big influence on him, one of his first exposures to music. Usually we hear his more esoteric jazz influences but 60s pop is hard to keep down. So now we have to get the Monkees to record the song. Anyone have Davy Jones's email? I figured even Mike would play with the Monkees if they get to cover Barnaby Bright.

Something odd happened with my camera. Becky asked me to record a new song they did last night for the first time. So what happened? My battery died in the middle of it. And now when I looked at my photos none of the pictures I took after that ended up on my memory card.

Here's the slideshow of what I got.

I planned on writing about Terry Pratchett's Nation but I'm getting close to a thousand words and I won't be able to do it justice. I'm happy to say that I'm making good progress on it. I'm trying to read more. Tomorrow it will be the topic of discussion here.

Now I'm off to make breakfast, bacon and eggs today.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 07, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!