I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 12, 2003 - 12:27 a.m.

Art for Garfunkel's sake

I wasn't good this weekend about my work. I have to get back in the habit of doing everything the first day I can. I'm almost caught up now. I graded the corrections for my day calculus class, the good class. They did very well on the corrections and the brought the class average up from 59 to 72. Two students didn't hand in any correction. One was absent and the other just didn't bother to. I know I should talk to them but I never know what to say.

After class I tutored Alma. We are doing graphing of conic sections. Its funny how much I can fake. I haven't done this stuff in years and don't know all the formulae. I can figure them out as I go along though since I know sort of what they look like. I always enjoyed graphing. I think it's because it is the closest I can get to art.

I'm bad in drawing and in music but in totally different ways. I can hear music in my head. The mental wiring is there. I understand what is going on. The same isn't true about drawing. I don't have a clue about how to render what I see onto paper. I know some formal tricks but that's all. The problem is not in my hands but in my head. I love art but I don't appreciate it as much as I do music. That being said I have to go to the Metropolitan Museum of Art this month to see the Da Vinci show. There is an exhibition of his technical drawings, Da Vinci the Draftsman. I just have to figure out when I can go. I'm shooting for Thursday after class, maybe Friday.

I love the Met. Like most people I know I have my routine. If there is a special exhibit I want to see I see that. Then I always go to the Egyptian section no matter what. If I have time I see the old masters, the armor, and the musical instruments. I also love to explore parts of the museum I don't know as well. There are always new things to discover. It has been too long since I've been there.


That was supposed to be posted last night but Diaryland wouldn't take it, I'm not a gold member. It was sort of like at Creepcon except Andrew isn't pure evil.

My tummy misses Carey; that's my theory anyway. I'll just have to take lots of meds till I see her again.

I'm not sure if my class was attentive this morning or just asleep. I hope it wasn't just zipping by them while they slept. It seemed to go well. I covered a lot of ground.

I found out the cleaning woman is coming tomorrow which means I have to clean. I also have to do school work, go to the bank, and go shopping all before I leave for school tomorrow morning. I want to watch Buffy too. I know the episode sucks but I haven't seen it. So I better just go now and hold off on solving the problems of the world.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 12, 2003
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!