I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 28, 2017 - 12:09 p.m.

Secret Identity

Yesterday was not exciting though there was a race with time. I had two notices about mail in my PO box so I wanted to pick it up. I left early enough to make the bus that will always get me there on time. That bus never came. I don't know what happened but a bus came going in the opposite direction, turned around, and had a "Not in Service" sign on it as it passed by my stop. I ended up waiting 25 minutes for a bus. That means getting to the post office before it closes is a crap shoot. I ended up getting there 2 minutes before closing. They are very strict about that. I get to my box and what do I find? One letter addressed to Occupant and another to the person that had the box before me. I felt like Charlie Brown on Valentine's Day.

The trip to Trader Joe's was more successful, they had what I needed. Today I have to call the MTA and see if they found my bag. I'm having a high anxiety day. There are a several things I need to do that I'm freezing on. Ironically the one thing I unfroze on was getting my roster freeze list out for my fantasy baseball team. I got it in late. The league is understanding of my issues. Thank you league.

I did find solace in food. Bernie made chocolate brownies. I made blackened chicken with cheese wrapped in lavash flatbread and roasted potatoes with garlic salt and jerk seasoning. I know I said I wasn't going to tell you what I ate every meal anymore but this was new. It was also ridiculously good. Oh no, I didn't take anything out for dinner tonight. I'll have to defrost in the microwave or buy something.

Right before I started writing I came across two totally ridiculous posts on Facebook. I did not need Snopes to tell me they were false. Snopes called one of them a "gross misrepresentation." The other wasn't on Snopes yet but I notified them about it. Here is a simple rule. If you find an earth-shattering news story but it's only on comfirmationbias.com and not in any mainstream media, it's not true. I'm talking earth shattering. There are always stories that are not covered, there is only a limited amount of space in newspapers and time on TV and if even if there weren't if everything was covered then you couldn't find anything. Sometimes the media will make poor judgements. But if you read something that you know is huge, "Ted Cruz's Day admits to killing Kennedy," "Chemical Spill kills thousands," "Kane caught in love nest with 'singer;" that's going to be on the front page of every paper. If it's not, you should be very skeptical.

I am at a loss that this still needs to be explained. Charlie Brown is all of us. The people that keep believing unreliable sources keep trying to kick the football and Lucy keeps snatching it away and they never learn. Is it like my anxiety? Do they intellectually know that what they are doing is wrong but can't help themselves? I'm making an effort to consider that whenever people have inexplicable behavior. I want to resist saying they are stupid or evil without more evidence. There are exceptions; the people that just cut in front of me in line or doesn't have their wallets out when they make it to the cashier after waiting on a long line are stupid or evil; probably both.

Oy, I went to Facebook to check something and someone else posted an all caps important story from an unreliable source. If proof came out that Trump was really Andy Kaufman, you wouldn't find it on one website. You have to admit that would explain a lot. Kaufman faked his death to turn his entire life into performance art. Remember all those misogynistic things he used to say and nobody was sure if he meant them or it was a performance? That was preparing for his latest role. The more I think about it the more it makes sense. They both were in wrestling matches. Kaufman's best known character spoke in broken English with a distinctive syntax. Especially in the early days Kaufman's act consisted of him doing things very badly and acting like he didn't know it. He'd lip-sync to Mighty Mouse, he'd do ridiculously bad impressions and magic tricks.

The anti-immigrant theme is an extension of Latke. Trump is another character like Vic Ferrari; obnoxious, egotistical, and objectifies women. We'll never know for sure as Kaufman never did the big reveal. He'd stay in character and not admit it was a character. One last question for you all. Have you ever seen Donald Trump and Andy Kaufman in the same room? I have nailed this. Look it up on Snopes. It won't deny it.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 28, 2017
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!