I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

February 14, 2012 - 10:50 a.m.

Act II

I had an interrupted night's sleep last night and then slept late. I'm starting this at the time that I planned on finishing. Maybe it's a good thing that I don't have that much to write about. Knowing me I'll write War and Peace..

I stayed home yesterday which is why I don't have much to write about. I just ran to the local supermarket for a few things. One of the things I picked up to feed my new addiction, Bacon and Potato Soup. The first time I made this I scaled the recipe down to two servings and the website couldn't handle the fraction and said "tsp cayenne pepper." It was supposed to say 1/24 tsp cayenne pepper. I didn't have any in the house so I replaced it with a tsp of Cajun seasoning. The soup pretty much tasted like Cajun seasoning. This time I made it right. I intentionally replaced the onion, carrots, and celery with a third a clove of garlic. It was delicious but a bit strong. This time I bought cayenne pepper and just put a dash in. Well two dashes. I still like it spicy. It came out even better. I have pretty much figured out how to not need the recipe. To make two servings at a time I put it what I consider one serving of everything. I'm going to be making this at least one day a week and getting two meals out of it. Next time I use a bit less salt and a bit more garlic, half a bulb.

I attempted to talk to three friends on the phone yesterday; that's three more than on a typical day. I only succeeded with Aubrey but we talked for a long time. I had a dilemma. He was driving while we talked. I don't believe in using a cell phone, hands free or not, while driving. It's dangerous. If we had talked more recently I might have told him to call me when he got home but it's been too long a time and it's been largely my fault.

Something I was talking about with friends the other day reminded me of a conversation I had with The Act. If you remember The Act is a musician or musicians that I dislike artistically. This was not recent. So don't start thinking it means you. To keep The Act anonymous I only mention things long enough after the facts as to not tip off who The Act is. I use them as an example, not somebody to slam.

The Act was talking about another unnamed Singer/Songwriter negatively but like me didn't want to slam anyone so didn't use a name. The thing is that I knew from context exactly who the act meant. What I found revealing was the comparison made. The singer/songwriter was part of a group based on some association. Maybe they are all in the same fantasy baseball league. The Act said that the Singer/Songwriter's songs were not nearly as good as those of the others in the group. I didn't say anything but to me the Singer/Songwriter was the only one in the group worth listening to. The others are not bad, they aren't The Act, but they are generic, not special, not individual. If we were to go back in time and raise things many level The Act would have been saying how Leonard Cohen was not nearly as good a songwriter as Neil Diamond and John Denver.

I know that I'm more particular about individuality in art than most. I value it tremendously. How often do I describe someone or something I like as quirky? Even my food taste is quirky. I like to know why I should be listening to someone or reading a book as opposed to another. If it is just more of the same I might just as well listen to somebody else. Of course sometimes the difference is just quality. Paul Simon is as good as they come but I wouldn't call him quirky.

Some people go the opposite way. They don't want individuality. What they want is more of the same presented in ways that make them comfortable. Everyone has their own proper balance. Mine is actually quite broad but as more people go for comfortable I notice the challenging aspects. I know some people of course that go far more to the challenging than I do.

It ends up being a lot like driving: everyone that drives slower than me is an idiot and everyone that drives faster is crazy. I have to remind myself that I'm not the measure of all things. I just have more of a personal affinity for people with taste more akin to my own.

Now I better make dinner. I am going to be good and make myself a new gradebook spreadsheet and not trust that I'll have access to my school computer today. I have two quizzes to give back and I can't do that till I have a place to enter the grades. I'll just make a rough spreadsheet without the formulae and hope to get my computer back at some point. I can't do that at school because the idiot computer I have can't handle the html that lets me download the class roster from the school's website. Doesn't that make sense to you?

Now for breakfast; can I have bacon and eggs the day after having bacon in my soup? Why not?


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile February 14, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!