I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

August 25, 2010 - 10:01 a.m.

My Beloved Beatific Batnosed Embryo

It's early but I have to write this fast. I'm driving down to Atlantic City today. Raise your hand if you know why? I don't gamble or go to shows or the beach. I go to a Chinese Buffet. I don't go for the food I go to visit Leah aka My Beloved Beatific Batnosed Embryo. That needs some explanation. Back in the last year of the last millennium I went on the epic Big-assed-Früparty-weekend. That was a weekend with Carey and Shelly going to three shows by Moxy Früvous in three days. The first was at the Vault in Baltimore, the second at the Appel Farm Arts and Music Festival, and the last at LORi and Steve's house. At Appel Farm I met Leah in person for the first time. I already knew her online from first AMMF the Moxy Früvous newsgroup then from Frühead.com. I used to use the signatures "DrWhoFru" and "Feanole" on the news group and my name on FHDC so she thought I was too different people till then. I should also point out that Leah was a newly minted 15-year-old at the time.

Leah was also at the house concert. Unfortunately she had a horrible asthma attack. My medical/paternal instincts were triggered and I went to take care of her. Everyone else was having fun in the yard and Leah was confined to "the clean room." Air conditioned to protect it from pollen and vacuumed to keep out the cat hair. That's where we bonded. That's where I discovered that she invented the word Batnose that Carey, Shelly, and I, always used. It was a bluff in a game of Scrabble. It ridiculously was not in the dictionary. It should be of course. Talking about ridiculous conversations we went to Lori's French-English dictionary and translated Batnose into French, nez chauve-souris. I also discovered that I loved Leah. I adopted her. Well she has parents so I pseudo-adopted her. She's my pseudo-daughter. Now she's an adult and in college and we still talk and I still visit her. By tradition whenever I do we go to the Chinese Buffet.

So now what am I going to write about tomorrow after I see her? I hope something exciting happens. Maybe we'll be picked up by space aliens in flying saucers.

I was supposed to see Caravan of Thieves last night but as I didn't sleep enough the night before I didn't go. I was tired. So out of five shows they are doing in August I'll only go to three of them. I'll go next week. That's the second time I was too tired to go. The shows are at 10 and end at midnight so it's tough.

My reward for staying home was talking to Carey. There are some people that I should record my conversations with and just post them as entries. They go to bizarre places. Carey is one of them. I didn't record it so I'm not quite sure why I said that I should eat the Vosgest Dark Chocolate Bacon Bar dipped in chocolate and peanut butter (so far it's self evident why) and puppies for roughage. Yet not only did I say it but Carey thought that was an undisputable point. That does not count as a particularly weird conversation for us. Oh, you think I'm making up the bar? Look and behold its divine form.


I know Carey thought it might be disappointing which is why I said, "then I'll dip it in peanut butter." I don't know where the puppies came from.

I got in a photo taken at Christine Lavin's book signing on Monday that's on her website.

.

See me in the back? That's Steve Doyle, the bass player whose name I forgot yesterday on the left in the back and David Sokol whose name I remembered on the right. Chris is flanked by Hector Coris and Julie Gold.

My life with people is going about as well as it can go. I'm feeling loved. That perhaps deserves an entry to itself.

Now I have to make breakfast and get moving. I'll eat now and when I get to AC eat again. It's a good life.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile August 25, 2010
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!