I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

January 20, 2013 - 4:42 p.m.

I've Been Gaslighted

I can't decide if I want to write now or nap and then write. I did not get nearly enough sleep last night. I'll try writing. If I fall asleep don't wake me.

Yesterday I got to play geek-in-law to the Last Homely House West of the Mountains. The router lost power for a second when it accidentally unplugged. When it was plugged back in all the changes I put in it to the network name and password were gone and it reset to the factory settings. Last time Paul walked me through how to change things. He didn't answer when I called so I did it on my one. the one thing I didn't know was the IP address of the router. But I realized I had it in my browser history. I just had to track it down. It took some doing but I found it From there I could figure out what to do but I made one big mistake. I changed the name before the password. As soon as that happened I was disconnected. I tried to do things on Elrond's desktop which has an Ethernet connection. to the router. I put in the IP and it couldn't find the address. I went back to my laptop and logged on with the new name and old password then changed the password. Now I know. Always change the password first.

Can anyone explain why a temporary loss of power made the password and network name reset? That is annoying, It shouldn�t work that way.

Yesterday I got a message on my phone that my glasses were ready. Elrond drove me over there and got me in with his CostCo card. They don't really look at the card. I might just borrow the card when I have to go back. When I got there I found that only one pair was ready, the single vision backup glasses with the black plastic hipster frames. They are fine as long as I don't have to read. It will be a bit awkward teaching with them but I'd rather that than having to make do with my old glasses. I was giddy walking out the store. I could see everything clearly. I am going to have to celebrate by going to the movies, Maybe I'll do that tomorrow, Anyone want to see the Hobbit with me then?" I'd prefer 3D but will see 2D if you insist.

I was inspired by my new glasses to do the New York dressed all on black thing. I often do that teaching but rarely when going out. It's because my black shoes are not quite as comfy but I went for it. It was pretty warm for this time of year 49˚ perfect for my leather jacket but that�s' brown. My black one is in storage. So I wore my lighter black spring jacket with my black wWfUV hoodie underneath. More on this later. Don't forget what I'm wearing.

Elrond dropped me at the station and I zoomed into the City. that's a very fast train. I was at West Fourth Street in no time. I was there to see the final show at the Gaslight Caf�. The original Gaslight was a Greenwich Village Folk Revival legend that opened the year I was born 1957. It closed but reopened in the same location two years ago. I didn't even know about it till last week even though David Massengill has played there. I knew about this show since Katherine told me. I had asked her to see Kat 'Quinn with me and she couldn't because she was going to this show, The Four O'Clock Flowers. They don't seem to have a website. It's the duo of Ernie Varga and Samoa Wilson. Samoa's name sounded familiar and when I saw her I thought I remembered her singing with Jim Kweskin's Jug Band at a gig at Lincoln Center Outdoors. I checked and I was right. It was back in 2001. How did I remember that? I can't remember where I was two days ago. You can read about if you like: More Musical Magic. Wow that show had some lineup. There was also Solas, Odetta, and Great Big Sea.

I got there before Katherine and snagged us seats on the comfy couch. Good thing for me as they were the only seats with back support. I need that.

The opening act Randy Burns who has been singing folk music for 45 years. He opened for everybody back in the day at Folk City. He sings folk without added adjectives, folk music, full stop. I live in the folk world but rarely hear that. He wasn't epic or life changing but very good.

Katherine joined me during his set. She was dressed all in black. She doesn't do that either. At least we both got the memo. When we left she commented that I was just wearing a spring jacket. My sweatshirt was in my bag, a black bag. I admitted I only wear it because it matched. She called me a girl. I just hang out too much with girl bands. It's all your fault Red Molly and Chicks with Dip. Now I'm going to have to watch football. Nah, I'm going to listen to live music. I'll just do it in a manly way.

The Four O'Clock Flowers also played unadorned folk and blues. Most of their music is covers, trad songs and people like Lead Belly and Woody Guthrie. There were a few originals. I'd love to have them at the Budgiedome. Imagine folk music at a folk festival

The only person I knew there other than Katherine was David Massengill. That was fitting as he played the old Gaslight. Katherine's husband was there videoing the show. We talked a lot about Stanley Kubrick, we're both big fans.

After the show I went to the Living Room to see Church of Betty. I thought the show was at Rockwood for some reason. On the way there I ran into Eliot and he set me straight. When I got to the Living Room it was packed. I don't mind standing but I don't like it there. Either I can't see or I block someone else from seeing. I only stayed for three songs and left. That's someone said as I haven't seen them for years. I had hoped that Marti could join me. She is the one that turned me on to them a dozen years ago. But she couldn't make it.

I was tired and feeling a bit off. I needed psych meds. You know what that means, chocolate. I went to the Creperie NYC across the street and had a peanut butter, dark chocolate, halvah crepe. That is as good as it sounds. Eating that made me feel much better.

I just realized that I was silly coming home. I never know which is faster, taking the and walking three quarters of a mile or taking the back a stop to Broadway Lafayette and switching to the or back to the . So it saves the walk but involves waiting for two extra trains. I should have used google maps which knows where the trains are to tell me which was faster. I took the and walked,

This morning I woke up early to listen to John Platt's WFUV Sunday Breakfast his guest were the Kennedys , Red Molly, Julie Gold, and Caroline Doctorow. I should have gone to the taping. Pete, Maura, Abbie, Laurie, Molly, and Julie are among my best friends in music. I don't know Caroline as well but she's my friend too. I'd have had so much fun and I'm sure they wouldn't have minded.

I was there the first time the Kennedys and Red Molly did the show together and my being there then was the reason they were together today. Back at that first show Pete and Maura told me they were working on a Nanci Griffith tribute album. I told them that Red Molly covered Nanci's Working Girls. They used to call Chris and I their working girls because we'd sing along to the song and sell their merch. No I am not a girl. Stop sniggering. That means you Lena. and you too Carey. and yes you LORi. Anyway that led to them being on the album. And now years later the album finally came out and that was why they were on the show together. It was all performers from the album, Trouble in the Fields. It was one of my top albums of 2012.

Now I have to run. I'm off to another concert. My last for a week. I hope I don't get the DTS.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile January 20, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!