I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 31, 2012 - 11:45 a.m.

It's the End of the Year As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)

Time for my last post of the year. This has been the worst year of my life. The fact that the calendar says it is a new year has absolutely no effect on the things that made it the worst. I'm not going to say good riddance to the year. It wasn't the year's fault. For the world a large it was filled with good and bad things just like every other year.

Is there a bright side to being homeless? In bizarre ways perhaps. In Cat Ballou Kid Shelleens Clay that he's going to give him a great gift then proceeds to beat him. "You'll learn you can take a beating and survive." I'm learning that lesson. It was the impetus I needed to start therapy. The fact that I'm still not depressed proved that I really am a cheerful hobbit. I forgot what character in what Dickens novel it was but he kept complaining that his life was too good that it was no trick to be happy when you have things as good as he did. I don't have that problem.

I learned what good friends I have. I would not have survived and certainly not been happy without them. Thanks to all of you.

I made new friends; Jeremiah, Kat, Caitlin, Jo, and Katherine. OK what's with those names. Kat, Katherine, and Caitlin. not much variety is there. I made five friends and they start with only two initial sounds. That doesn't seem like a good basis for friendship. But then again it works.

I reconnected with old friends Marti, Steve, and Carey.

I got new toys, my first smart phone my first and second laptops (the first was used and didn�t last) and a new camera. I still haven't learn to use the camera.

It was a bad year but there were many good days. I'm going to link to those entries.
New Year's Day Parties
The first of the many times I saw the chicks with dip tribute to Joni Mitchell's Blue.

Nope that isn;'t going to work. I don't want to spend all day reading Wise Madness to find the best days.

There were the usual of course, Falcon Ridge and NERFA. I never forget them. but they each get multiple posts.

There was my birthday! That's not usually good for me but it was this year: Friends + Chocolate = Happy Birthday

There was the aforementioned visit from Carey; You're a Mean Old Daddy But I LIke You Fine

I went Caroling twice, Once with Fred and Terre Roche and Once with Katherine

I became a Brooklynite even if I spent two months in Manhattan. I loved those three months in Fort Greene. It's the best place I ever lived, I want to move back there some day.

I'm going to keep it short today. I want to read and if Carey is around play on turntable.fm and then tonight I'm making the trek to Queens to spend New Year's Eve with Warren and Tina as has become my tradition.

Hey, I just realized I missed a book yesterday, I never entered it on Goodreads; The Strange Story of the Quantum by Banesh Hoffmann. Good that means I read one more science book than I thought. I like nutritional books.

And with that I'll bid you adieu for the year. The world didn't end in 2012, not even for me. Beethoven's violin concerto is playing on WQXR, how bad can things be?


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 31, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!