I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

July 20, 2012 - 2:14 p.m.

Friends + Chocolate = Happy Birthday

I'm having anxiety issues with my email again. Here's the deal. I'm going to write today's Wise Madness but I'm not allowed to post it till I finish my emails. We'll see if that works.

Yesterday was my birthday! I hit the speed limit, 55. For now on I'm on cruise control. How did I celebrate? I started by making myself pancakes and sausage for breakfast. I'm using breakfast in a loose sense. I had it after lunch. I had a peanut butter sandwich for lunch when I woke up. In my mind at least the meal is defined by what I eat not when I'm eating it. When making the pancakes I used my new batter bowl. It makes things so much easier than using a mixing bowl. I can pour the batter without spilling it because of the spout. I love little things that make my life easier.

After breakfast I watched the Met game. The team and especially David Wright and R.A. Dickey gave me a birthday present. They won 9-5, Wright hit two home runs and had five RBIs and Dickey won his thirteenth decision in a row.

After eating so much for lunch and breakfast I skipped dinner and went to my birthday celebration here:


After being afraid all week that nobody would show up I was joined by five friends, Erika, Rona, Bob, Lori not LORi, and Joe.

The irony is that I moved to Brooklyn because most of my friends live here but everyone that could make it lives in Queens or Nassau.

We had a bit of a wait to get a table but we didn't mind that as we had fun talking to each other and once we sat down the chocolate was great. I had an incredible chocolate pudding that was closer to a mousse.


The thing that looked best was the brownie sundaes. The presentation alone was worth it.

Erika had an ice cream soda which she properly ordered with chocolate ice cream. They gave us a mini-scoop of chocolate sorbet to whet our palates while looked through the menu. I might have to move into the place. If anyone wants to go there with me let me know. I don't need the excuse of my birthday to have chocolate.

Right before we ordered I got a phone call. I saw it was from Laurie MacAllister (I am being daring and writing her last name without checking the spelling). When I answered Abbie, Molly, and Laurie aka Red Molly sang Happy Birthday to me from New Mexico. You people are making it very hard for me to feel neglected on my birthday.

After we ate Bob and Rona drove Erika and Lori back to Queens. Joe had to go to work in Jersey and I navigated him to Flatbush Ave which gave me a ride halfway back home. Not that the entire walk was too long.

When I got home I finally made dinner. I had hot dogs and home fries. So my meal order for the day was lunch, breakfast, dessert, then dinner. That's a benefit of being an adult that lives alone. I don't have to follow meal social conventions. I eat what I want when I want.

I have no real plans for today other than buying eggs and a few other things I need. I might see Roosevelt Dime tonight but it's a 10 PM show, I've seen them twice recently, and I could use some rest. I'll be busy this weekend. I am going to make sure to cook myself a real dinner tonight. I think it will be the plantain, garlic, and sausage soup.

I'm sure by now you've heard of the massacre in Aurora CO. A friend of mine posted on his Facebook; "How does a 24 year old get so warped?" I responded with

"People will make up reasons but in the end Bob Geldorf got it right

And he can see no reasons
'Cos there are no reasons
What reason do you need to be show-ow-ow-ow-own?"

Right after I did people started giving their explanations, ones based on nothing but their prejudices.

One person blamed video games.

Another "complex, impersonal and violence prone society"

One person was moved to be thankful for our second amendment right to bear arms since nobody else can protect us. I think that was actually said without irony.

In the olden "less enlightened" days people would have blamed gods or demons.

Like I said, I'm with Bob Geldorf. I know I don't know why.

I'm going to read the scary emails now. No they is nothing really scary in them. I can't explain why I'm scared either.

I did it! I forced myself to read my emails Now I have to go shopping in the rain. Not looking forward to that.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile July 20, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!