I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 12, 2003 - 1:02 a.m.

Slings and arrows of outrageous fortune

Today did not get off to a good start. I was awakened at 8:30 in the morning by a call from school. The student that had cheated then complained about his grade went to the president of the college. To me he said that I didn�t give him the points for the corrections on one of the tests. I checked, even if I didn�t and he got every correction right he�d still get a D, not the C+ he is asking for. His average was only a 61, he is lucky he didn�t fail. Now he is apparently complaining that I favored the girls in the class. Funny thing since the two students that I singled out for praise in his class were both guys. They impressed me by improving so much from the beginning of the semester.

I got another hit with the mail. It was from the lawyers of the woman I was in the accident with. She says she was injured. I don�t have any details. I just had to forward the letter to the insurance company.

I did manage to get my license abstract from the DMV. That wasn�t as bad as I thought it would be. First off the bus ride there was great. They have a new type of bus I�ve never ridden. It has coach seats like in a greyhound. They even recline. That was nice.

The DMV is run far more efficiently than it used to be. Instead of waiting on line after line everybody waits on one fast moving line to the information desk. When you get there they ask you what you want, give you the forms to fill out, and then give you a number. You then sit and wait for you number to be called. I was there for about 45 minutes which really isn�t too bad for such a notorious bureaucracy.

When I got back I called WFUV and let them know when I was volunteering and had a nice talk with Karen, the membership director.

I talked to Carey twice today. The first time I was upset from what happened at school. I called her when I got back and found out about the lawyers. As usual she helped me through my troubles. Have I mentioned that I love her lately?

Speaking of people I love I talked to Leah tonight. I also spoke to her rat. The rat didn�t talk back though. I sang it the Mickey Mouse Club theme and Felix the Rat.

I watched quite a bit of sports tonight. The Mets won easily and the Nets won in a squeaker. I don�t usually watch the NBA finals if the Knicks aren�t involved but I like the Nets and San Antonio. I�m rooting for the hometown Nets. The big sports news is that the Yankees were No Hit for the first time since 1958. What makes it really remarkable is that Houston used six pitchers. The starting pitcher got hurt in the second inning.

I managed to read quite a bit of The Wall today. I think I�ll use a passage from it as my quote. This a letter that was left in a box belonging to a woman that was sent to the Treblinka, the extermination camp. All people were told is that they were being taken for resettlement in the east the truth was suspected.

To whosoever discovers this:

I have a fateful feeling that we will be taken soon for resettlement, and I have seldom been deceived in my premonitions. This box was given to me by my husband, Israel Farbszmul, when we were young. We had been married, I can say, exactly two years and three months. I had just given birth to what was to have been our first child�stillborn. My husband had bought the box to be a present at birth. I was never able to have children after that experience, and I came to regard this box a with a kind of superstition. It symbolized my issue. My children. I have always kept in this box everything I valued most, my most precious jewels. It has contained my sorrows. I leave it behind now because I know my husband and I will never return. His branch of the Farbszmul family ends with us, as we have no children. Therefore I leave this box, representing those children; in it I leave the memory of the Farbszmuls. If you be a German who takes this box into your home, you must know that you have taken Jewishness into your home, you have adopted the Farbszmuls, forever and ever. You will consider this a curse. I consider this a very great blessing, for you, though possibly not for the Farbszmuls.

�Hear O Israel: the Lord, our God, the Lord is One!�

[signed] Rega Farbszmul


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 12, 2003
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!