I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

June 12, 2003 - 11:53 p.m.

Nitsa Wonderful Life

The excitement today was going to meet Nitsa at Newark Airport. This morning I realized that I didn�t know what airline she was coming in on. I sent up an SOS on FHDC and Chris came up with the airline by doing a internet search.

Getting to the airport was an adventure in itself. Because it was near rush hour I might have gone the same way even if I could drive now. I walked to the LIRR then switched to New Jersey Transit. I took that to the airport where I had to switch to the Air Train, a monorail to the terminal. Newark has to be the world�s most boring major airport. There were absolutely no shops or restaurants, only a snack bar. I found a place to sit and read till it was time for Nitsa�s plane to come in. I always have anxiety when it comes to meeting at an airport. I kept asking people if they were coming in from Seattle. When one finally did I kept an extra sharp lookout and spotted Nitsa from a distance. She was tired from sitting so long so we tried to take a walk. The problem is you can�t really walk around that airport. We ended up sitting in �the meet and greet� area, the closest thing there is to a lounge. It was the first time I spent a significant amount of time alone with Nitsa and I learned a lot about her. I�m two for two on these airport meetings now. I�ll have to try this again. Next time at Laguardia though, that�s only ten minutes from my house. Funny thing Megan wrote about my meeting Carey and her at the airport in her Live Journal.

The trip out there made me think about how much I like public transportation. It can actually be fun and more relaxing than driving. Even when I have my car I usually just drive to the train station. We really need to make it a nationally policy to promote public transportation. New Yorkers use so much less energy per person than any other state because the Metropolitan Area has the best mass transit in the country.

Gregory Peck died today. My first reaction when I heard this was to tell the story of how my grandfather shouted out, �That�s my son-in-law!� in the theatre once when Peck came on. When I told the story Andrea said, �Now we need some pics of your dad.� Your wish is my command. This is a page from the scrapbook my sister, Alison, made for my father�s 86th birthday.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile June 12, 2003
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!