I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 26, 2012 - 10:58 a.m.

RUNAtic in the JC

We'll skip the parts where I say that I didn't get enough sleep and move right in to the parts I wrote when I'm sleepy today.

Yesterday I went to see RUNA at the Heights House Concert Series in Jersey City. That makes it one of the closer shows for me. I travel to see RUNA. Mike went too and gave me a ride. We had the easiest trip to Jersey I've had it in years. We crossed from the Williamsburg Bridge to the Holland tunnel in about 20, 25 minutes.

This was my first time at the Heights House. I know Laura who hosts the series though I'm not sure from where originally. She just sort of entered my world; probably online at first. Her house is beautiful. I was afraid of being late but Mike and I were the first ones there. I'm not complaining of course. I got the seat I wanted and had time to socialize. Unusually for me the only ones I knew there were Mike and Laura and the band. This was not my musical social set. Next time I go I might try public transportation. I was told it was a hike from the PATH train but since when do I mind a hike. I'll get to feel more virtuous. The place is certainly convenient. When I get a car it will take me less than an hour to get there, at least when the trip runs smoothly like that last.


Laura introducing the show

There was an opening act Julie Kathryn that Mike knew but I missed at NERFA. I got to know her before the show. I'm having trouble pinning down her music. She does some things unusually, which is a good thing. One song with a spooky feel had only one chord. Do you know that when I say "spooky" that's a good thing? I liked her enough to like her on FB and plan on seeing her again.


Jullie Kathyrn>

RUNA is at the point where they are both exciting and a comfort band. I see them enough that I get that relaxing hanging out with friends feel but they are so dynamic and different from the rest of what I think of that I get the adrenaline rush. They don't let the moss grow on them. They have only been around three years and they are now working on their third album.

It's always hard to get pictures of Cheryl so this time I made a trip to the kitchen which is to the side of "the stage" to get here.

RUNA minus Cheryl.

Cheryl


This is what struck me about RUNA yesterday. They are a band, not four musicians. They all made their marks accompanying other people and it shows. Shannon on vocals, Fionán on guitar, Tomoko on violin, and Cheryl on drums are all virtuosi none of them try and dominate the sound. I have always noticed this about Cheryl who I've known the longest. It's why everyone wants her to play percussion for them. What she does is make whoever she plays with sound better. It is also how people with such diverse musical backgrounds can make Irish/Scotish/Celtic music even though Fionán is the only one that comes out of that world. Tomoko is a jazz musician and picked it up in no time. Music is music and they get that.

I'm so excited that I get to help present them at Christopher Street Coffee House. I'm going to pull people right of their beds to make it to that show. I'm warning you now.


I almost forgot to show you the rest of the pictures. Here's the slideshow. Click on it to see them one at a time.



Mike and I were of course among the last to leave. Not too surprising as we were the ones that know the band. The ride home was easy too. Mike wanted to go out for dinner but I had things to do and taken things out for dinner. If RUNA didn't have to run we would have eaten with them. It turned out good for me that we didn't. My baseball league freeze lists were due yesterday at 11 PM and as it is I only finished at 10:45. Now yes I could have fought through the sleepiness and gotten it done early but that's easier said than done. This way I got to rest for a bit till I was awake.

I made a simple dinner, Blackened chicken and Trader Joe's frozen whipped cream. I knew I'd be tired and rushed when I got back. Simple doesn't mean bad of course. It was delicious.

I have lots to do today and this week promoting shows and preparing for my baseball league draft and of course school. I'm also going to go shopping today to stock up on things. I have almost no meat left in the house and no bread other than bagels in the freezer. I'll stop by Trader Joe's today but that's something of a waste as I can do that any day after the school. The thing is that it's on my way to Stop and Shop where I'm going anyway so I might as well stop in.

This is a short but I am tired so I'm going to not get philosophical or political and call it quits. Here's the schedule for the rest of the week.

Tuesday night – Laura Dunn and the Ghosts of Christmas Past at John Brown's Smokehouse
Wednesday – Kath Buckell at Rockwood
Thursday – Diana Jones w/Paul Sachs at Christopher Street Coffee House
Friday – Chicks with Dip do Joni Mitchell's Blue at the Outpost in the Blurbs.

I have to help promote and work the Diana Jones show of course and I'll do the same for the Chicks with Dip. I had planned on going up to Boston on Friday for Pesky J. Nixon's CD release party in Boston but I can't make the timing work without taking Amtrak which is too much money. Being rich would be nice. And I should point out that if I had money I take the Acela Express not fly. I could go right from school to Boston without making a trip the airport where I have to be early. I love the choo choo.

I think I might make a treat for breakfast, andouille sausage omelet.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 26, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!