I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 25, 2012 - 10:18 a.m.

Maybe Philly Isn't Healthy

You might have noticed that there is a backlog of editions of Wise Madness. When you are done reading this hit the previous button at the bottom and start catching up. This will be on the test.

It's now Sunday and I have not written about Friday or Saturday. I'm officially a day behind! I will compress the two days down to one entry which will not be difficult considering that we didn't much.

Friday morning pretty much didn't happen. LORi made it out of the house Friday afternoon. Our first stop was Perkin's. Yes it's a chain restaurant but I love their breakfasts and I can't get it here. I acted as Lori's whipping boy eating the meal she wanted to taste but not pay the health consequences for. So I made the sacrifice and had the Southern Fried Chicken Biscuit Platter.

Two fresh-baked biscuits filled with a fried chicken fillet and American cheese, topped with cream gravy. Served with two large eggs cooked to order, two smoked bacon strips and choice of hash browns or breakfast potatoes. (No substitutions)
See the sacrifices I make for my friends. Lori had one bite of the chicken/biscuit, and gravy. It was delicious. I need to find a Perkin's I can go to. That or start making this stuff myself.

Yes I could still move after that and we moved on to what I call the peanut butter and chocolate store. It has a name but I don't know what it is. They sell all sorts of fun variations of my two favorite foods plus other candy and delights. I bought their peanut butter (well duh), cashew butter, peanut butter covered malt balls, chocolate covered pretzels and peanut butter filled chocolates. One again; well duh. I think we spent 18 hours there. We're like two little kids in a candy store. I guess you can forget the "like" we are two little kids in a candy store.

When we got back we were both sort of tired and took a nap. Steve was home from work he was napping. I didn't say anything at the time but I felt some tightness in my tummy. Yes it was in incipient Crohn's attack. Don't blame it on Perkins. That food was still in my stomach and the obstruction is in the end of the small intestine. I'm pretty sure it was the pizza from the night before. It had red pepper on it, something I don't usually eat. The skin of the pepper is the kind of thing that causes problems. I thought it was soft enough not to but I was wrong. Cross off another food from the list of things I can eat. Good thing I'm a carnivore or I'd have real trouble finding enough things to eat. A man cannot live by tofu alone. That pretty much killed the rest of the day. We had planned on going out to a movie but that wasn't going to happen. Instead the naps took hours and then I still couldn't move for a while. Lori came up to my bedroom and kept me company. Later in the evening I felt good enough to go down to the living room and be more sociable. It was a slowdown, not a complete obstruction. I was lucky. Luck and 40 mg of predisone a day. I shudder to think what I'd have been like without the meds.

Saturday was not that different from Friday. We all went out for breakfast again, this time to a dinner. I had slightly less food, French toast, poached eggs, scrapple, and toast. If I'm going to be in Philly I really should have the local dish, scrapple. I also picked up some soft pretzels after breakfast. We spent a relaxing day touring the neighborhood and going to the library before Lori and Steve drove me down to 30th street station to catch my bus home.

I slept most of the ride again and did no reading. I worked on last week's NY Times crossword and never cracked it. I always can do the Times puzzle. This time I only did half of it and never got the trick. I guess I'm going to have to look at the answers today. I feel shame.

There was a group of annoying people on the bus. There is one set of seats set around a table and they sat there. One was watching a movie on his computer without earphones. How do people not know that you shouldn't do that? When the movie was over they decided they were going to have a party and were shouting the entire time. I took out my mp3 player and had to set it at maximum volume to block them out. I should not have to do that. Should I have said something? I think the bus driver should have. They were loud enough that he had to have heard.

When I got home I had a simple dinner. I had some potato/bacon/ garlic soup in the freezer that I defrosted and heated. Guess what I had with it. Come on guess. Yes that's right, the peanut butter than I bought.

So that was my Spring Break Vacation. I'm such a wild thing. Lori and I of course came up with our usual ideas guaranteed to make us billionaires if we could only remember them. We are thinking of charging people to write down our ideas, remember them, then give us a cut when they become billionaires. What's the only idea I actually remember? That for now on Mitt Romney should be called Thurston Howell III. Four years ago we decided that Sarah Palin should always be referred to as "Cupcake." Whenever you link to Romney's website make sure to call him "Thurston Howell III." All the cool kids are doing it. If by all the cool kids you mean me.

Oh I remember something else that I did with Lori. I introduced her to the glories [close irony] of Shake It Up and TTYLXOX. Why should Carey and I be the only ones corrupted? Friday is so 2011.

Today I'm off to see RUNA with Mike at Heights House Concerts in Jersey City aka Laura's house.

Now I'll try and catch up with the NY Times and email. Wish me luck.

Oh I forgot the most important thing. It was 80 degrees on Friday. In other words, "It's as hot as hell in Philadelphia!"


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 25, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!