I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 02, 2008 - 10:41 a.m.

Me, Myself, and I

I know this entry is right on the heels of my last one. That was pretty good, and if you read it I won't have to explain the video I'm going to post so go read it now: Trick or Theremin.

So now without explanation here's the video I couldn't post in that entry.

I finished writing my test. I have to take it to make sure everything works out and that it isn't too long. I put in one question where the characters are Barack Obama and Joe Biden. The test is on Wednesday.

I had some good lines in class. I talked about my Joe Six-pack costume. I told them:

You can tell everyone your teacher has a six pack or you might say that he has a beer belly. Whichever you prefer. Of course what you'll probably really say is that your teacher is insane. That's OK; years from now you'll look back on this and think, "Why didn't I drop that class why I had a chance?"

That got a great laugh.

When I got home I logged onto moveon.org and made calls for Obama. They weren't get out the vote calls; I asked Move On members to volunteer for the campaign. I didn't have any actual success. I feel bad that I haven't been doing this all along. I'm not crazy about calling strangers but it bothers me less than most people so I should do it. I like to feel involved.

My only plans for today were the Knick game tonight but Maura invited me to see Caroline Doctorow at Stony Brook this afternoon. Pete and Maura are backing her up. So I'm going to race from there back to Forest Hills then hop on the Subway to see the Knicks. If the time is really close I'll take the Railroad.

I hope I can park when I get back from Stony Brook. There is alternate side of the street parking tomorrow. I might have to use Nora's garage.

The other day I told a friend about going to the Bridgeton Folk Festival while I was on IV antibiotics. That's one of my favorite memories. I was being the real me. That's always a great feeling. I think that is why I've been feeling so happy lately. I've been doing the things that make me me. I volunteered at WFUV, I am working for Obama, I dressed up for Halloween, I've been teaching really well while being funny and weird in class, I'm going to lots of concerts and I'm being insane today and racing from a concert to a Knick game while I should be doing laundry. The best friends are the ones that bring out the real you. If that's you, thanks. So tell me what are the things you do that make you feel like yourself?

That last paragraph is the Raison d'�tre of this entry. I think I can add writing Wise Madness to the list of things that make me feel like myself.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 02, 2008
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!