I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 01, 2008 - 5:57 p.m.

Trick or Theremin

I have a lot to do and once again I'm procrastinating. The most important thing is writing the test I am giving on Wednesday. I also have a ton of photos to edit, some of which I took today. I'm going to be good and just work on the ones pertinent to this entry.

Yesterday was Halloween. I bet you knew that. I went to the New Museum to hear a concert by Rob Schwimmer and Brian Dewan. Some of you, especially TMBG fans might know Brian. I was there to see Rob. Rob is a brilliant pianist and composer. That isn't what he was there for. He was there to play the theremin, the only instrument you play without touching it.

The museum was a great venue. There were seats at the back but I chose to lay down on the cushions on the floor.

During the concert the silent film The Vampyre was projected on the back wall at � speed. Here's a title frame.

Remember it was Halloween. The film really worked. Sometimes it was totally in synch with the action on the stage.



I took a video but it is having trouble uploading. I'll have to show that to you another time.

During the intermission I went over to talk to Rob. He didn't remember me. I wasn't too surprised as we had only talked once. He remembered that I had invited him to the Budgiedome when I reminded him. Well he said he remembered. I wouldn't place any bets on it. That actually makes what followed even more surprising. I asked him if there was anyplace to test-drive a theremin. He said, "other than my place?" He then said I could drop by some time and try it. He warned me that he was very busy now so it couldn't happen in the near future but when things get less hectic I'd be welcome. Anybody interested in joining me and trying out a theremin and meeting an amazingly cool and funny musician?

The show was organized and hosted by this lovely witch.

I am totally blanking on her name. Not too surprising. She understood my costume immediately and thanked Joe Six-pack for coming to the show. I love validation, I talked to her after the show about future concerts and got on her mailing list. I have a feeling she is going to become a friend.

I had heard quite a bit about Brian Dewan but I don't think I have ever seen him. I had high expectations. He did not fulfill them. He digs up old ridiculous songs and sings them and accompanies himself on the accordion and autoharp. It isn't that he's a bad performer it is just that it gets old pretty fast. I can see loving him as an opener doing a 20 minute set.

I know that Shana loves him. I haven't seen Shana in years. I met her at my first TMGB show and we used to see each other pretty regularly. Somehow we drifted apart. I tried emailing her before this show but the email bounced. I kept looking for her at the show but didn't see her. After the show was over I realized that the beautiful vampire I spotted was Shana. The wig and fangs fooled me. She got there late so I couldn't find her before the show and during the intermission I was distracted talking to Rob so I didn't look that closely. I didn't want to stare at her. As soon as I was sure I went over to her and said hi. She didn't recognize me at first with far less excuse. My costume didn't didn't disguise me. We had a really nice talk and exchange current email addresses. She took a pic of me and I took a few of hers on her camera. My batteries died right after I took the video. She is going to email me the ones we took.

I remained Joe Six-pack for the subway ride home and got a few acknowledgements. I saw two men dressed as Obama within a minute of each other when I got back to Forest Hills even though I hadn't seen anyone else dressed like him all day.
Wow, I really want to finish but I haven't gotten around to the things I really wanted to write about. The test is more important so that will just have to wait. I declare this entry officially over.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 01, 2008
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!