I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 10, 2010 - 12:29 p.m.

Radar Men of the Moon

I'm finished with my scheduled time wasting and ready to start writing. I have 34 minutes to write this. Let's hope that's enough.

Yesterday I went straight from school to see John Platt's On Your Radar. His guests this month were K.C. Clifford, Avi Wisnia, and Maura Kennedy with her band.

I was a bit anxious about getting their early because I was asked to save seats for three people, Meg, Carolann, and Ken. That meant grabbing a table. Eden and for the life of me I can't remember his name always sit at my usual table and I didn't want to displace them so I took the table right behind that one so I'd still be sitting next to John's table and be close enough to take photos. I made it so early I didn't need to worry. I was there before doors opened. I never let that stop me at On Your Radar Shows, I tend to know everybody. I had never met Avi before but I had friended him on Facebook so I could invite him to the Facebook Event that I set up so he actually knew me by sight. He's good. I was also someone surprised that K.C. didn't have to think and figure out who I am. We've met, she's played the Budgiedome, but that was over a year ago. Was it over two years ago? She's good too. If Maura didn't recognize me something would be seriously wrong.

Can I name all my friends at the show? Probably not. I know about a quarter of the audience on some level. Here's a telling fact. The people with the three highest closeness ratings were sitting right by me, Richard, John, and Carolann. Yes I know that Carolann isn't even on the top ten on the list I linked to but since then she has shot up to number 3 and Richard to number 1. That's what comes of camping with me at Falcon Ridge. Who else was there? Richard's wife Viki, Jay and Caroline, Jeff, Barbara, �

K.C. was up first. I knew she would be. They almost always go in order of increasing band size. K.C. was accompanied by her husband David. K.C. did I remember his name right?

I never noticed it before but K.C.'s singing reminds me of Nanci Griffith. I don't have time but I wouldn't be shocked if I said exactly the same thing in an earlier entry. I often notice things that I never noticed before many times. It's a benefit of not having a brain. In any event sounding like Nanci is a good thing.

Next up was Avi. Avi plays piano and the way the Living Room is now set up that means that even though he was the front man, he was in the back. For much of the show I couldn't see him at all. He was hidden by the upright bass. It doesn't look as odd in real life but in the pictures he looks like a disembodied head.

Avi is the son of a Rabbi in New Jersey and by means unknown his music comes from Brazil. I forgot to point out to him that the first Jewish immigrants to America came from Brazil. Maybe that's the connection. Avi left a kazoo on every table and asked us to play along on one song. I collect kazoos. That made a good first impression. When I told members of his band that I have an electric kazoo they invited me to bring it and play with them next time I see them. Then Avi made the offer himself when he heard I own a Kazooka.

Last but not least was Maura. She's a trooper. She fell down a flight of stairs the day before but performed anyway.


John Platt introducing Maura

I was delighted that she was joined by Cadence Carroll. I haven't seen Cady since she became a mother eight weeks ago. I can enjoy watching Cady sing even if I couldn't hear a thing, she projects such joy.

I of course didn't make the quick exit I planned I never do. I better make a quick exit now. I'm giving a test and it wouldn't do to be late. Here's the slideshow.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 10, 2010
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!