I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

November 09, 2010 - 11:07 a.m.

Welcome to the Hellmouth

I feel that I should be rushed now. I know I had a lot to do. I can't think of any of it. That's not good. Well actually I have to leave here in a little over two hours and I have to make breakfast and shower and write this entry and that actually is rushing things. I was considering writing this while I was at the Math Lab at school but instead I'll try and finish writing my test then. It seems more appropriate. I can grade my quiz then too. Oh and make up a problem set. I have a lot of school work to do. I can actually do that at school.

The City emails me with changes to the alternate side of the street parking schedule. I got a welcome email yesterday; alternate side is suspended on Thursday for Veteran's day. That means I don't have to move the car on Wednesday. So I don't have to head straight home after school to move my car then hop right back in the subway for the release party mini-concert for Just One Angel, Christine Lavin and friend's holiday CD project. It's being held at the Barnes & Noble 4 blocks from my school. It felt so silly going home first. I can use that time grading the test I'm giving that day.

I'm staying in school after class today and heading straight to John Platt's On Your Radar. I can work on my schoolwork after my tutoring hours in my office till then.

I'm spending the next two days on the go and then Thursday is NERFA. I'm going to crash heavy when I get home on Sunday.

I finally posted my photos from the October On Your Radar with Raina Rose, Rebecca Loebe, and David Goldman. Anthony da Costa found his way in there too. I think I'll just show you the slide show.

I also edited my photos from the Slaid Cleaves show. I told you about my seat in the back behind tall people. This was my actual view.


Opening act Graham Weber

That's why I like getting to shows early and sitting up front.

l to r: Charlie Backfish, Duke Levine, Slaid Cleaves


Slaid gets intense.


This is what shooting over people's heads and zooming can do.

The first episode of Buffy was on last night on Chiller. The show has found a new home. One that makes a lot more sense that Logo. Once again I was struck but how great the show was from the get go. As I felt compelled to write as my Facebook status. It was the greatest premier episode of any show ever. It introduced the characters and set the premise while still telling a gripping story and being funny. It established all the major themes of the show. Buffy having a destiny that she at once fights and embraces. She wants to live a normal life but she's the Slayer. It shows the formation of the Scoobee Gang and how unusual it is for a Slayer to be surrounded by people that know her secret. We get introduced to Angel to whom Buffy both attracted and frightened by. My favorite episodes were the very early ones before Buffy and Angel fall in love, when he was a mystery. When she asks him who he is he says, "a friend." Later he says "I didn't say I was your friend."

I loved the way the show told of teenage trauma through the allegory, rarely hitting you over the head with it.

The show was about perspective. Yes they had their teen angst but they'd realize that wasn't what mattered, what mattered was saving the world. Buffy goes to stop the Master from opening the Hellmouth and her mother who is totally in the dark tries to stop her. When Buffy says it's important her mother says, "I know if you don't go it's the end of the world. It's always the end of the world when you're 16." That's true but of course in this case what Buffy had to do literally was the end of the world. Brilliant!

The show lost that perspective after Joss Whedon left. During the first three seasons it was a show about them fighting cosmic evil against the backdrop of high school drama. The contrast was used for comic effect. The entire premise was absurd and what made it work was that the characters knew it was absurd.

In the latter seasons it was a soap opera about relationships against a backdrop of fighting cosmic evil. The characters lost all their perspective. They couldn't do what Willow does in season two when she discovers that Cordy and Xander were a couple. She says it's wrong and she's not OK with it but that can wait because they have to save the world. In the later seasons they forgot how ridiculous their lives were. Joss knew what the show was about, those that took over for him didn't. I remember seeing Jane Espanson at a Dragoncon after season 4. The audience agreed with me that the season was a huge let down from the previous ones. She got all defensive. She reminded me of Bush discussing Iraq.

So this entry's about Buffy? I wasn't supposed to be about Buffy. When did that happen? Now I have to get in the shower and go to school so it isn't going anyplace else.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile November 09, 2010
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!