I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 07, 2013 - 8:05 p.m.

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens

I am very tired but I'll try and update before I eat. I will probably end up eating in the middle of writing. I don't want to wait too long.

I spent yesterday preparing for my Fantasy baseball league draft. I did not do enough prep by a long shot. I never did anything with my pitching. I coded which pitchers were considered first, second, third, and fourth tier but somehow or other that wasn't saved when I shut down the computer. I tried doing it again while waiting for Chris to pick me up this morning and again it wasn't saved. I don't know what went on.

The draft is in fairly deep dark New Jersey. over an hour away from Brooklyn. When the league started the draft was in Bensonhurst which was the approximate population center of the members of the league .Now it's just Chris, Angelo, and me on the right side of the Hudson.

We were the last to arrive so we didn't have a lot of time to prep once we were there. This was my first draft with a laptop. that was exciting. I screwed up a few times but I screw up more when I write things out and this I can read who is on my team. I always have trouble with my handwriting since I'm rushing.

I didn't do nearly enough prep and the team is the antithesis of my ideal team. I like to have the money and talent evenly distributed. This year it is far more stars and bums. But that's the way the draft went. I didn't overpay for the good players. the problem si the ten cent players that aren't worth ten cents. Most people don't think this way but even hitters can be worth a negative amount and I have quite a few that probably are. I'll hope that some do better than expected. My good players are very good so we'll see if that makes up for it. Now is the moment you've all been waiting for; the introduction of your 2013 Nashional Batnoses.

Pos Name
C Napoli, Mike (BOS - C, 1B)
C Lavarnway, Ryan (BOS - C)
1B Chris Davis 1B, OF
2B Infante, Omar
3B Betemit, Wilson (BAL - 3B, CR)
SS Ramirez, Alexei (CHA - SS)
CI Carp, Mike (BOS - 1B, OF, CR)
MI Nakajima, Hiroyuki (OAK - SS)
OF Austin Jackson OF
OF Cruz, Nelson (TEX - OF)
OF Suzuki, Ichiro (NYY - OF)
OF Shuck, J.B
OF Martinez, Fernando (HOU - OF)
DH Bourjos, Peter (LAA - OF)
P Alburquerque, Al
P Darvish, Yu
P Frieri, Ernesto
P Reed, Addison
P Strop, Pedro
P Tillman, Chris
P Dickey, R.A. (TOR)
P Scherzer, Max (DET)
P Oliver, Darren (TOR)
farm Xander Bogaerts
farm Russell, Addison
farm Lindor, Francisco

MI = Middle Infielder
CI = Corner Infielder.

Not including today we are in second place. Of course RA Dicky gave up 7 earned runs today in four plus innings. Except for Darvish all my pitchers underperformed their first outing.

The league draft is my big male bonding day. I'm never around that many men. Diana is the only woman in the league. We should change that. Right now it's like Jesus's disciples, 12 men and Mary Magdalene. Not sure if Diana will like being compared to Mary.

We have been doing this since 1989, that's 24 years. So of my gentle readers weren't even more then. I love that island of stability in my life. There are still eight original members of the league though in the beginning Marc and I were partners on a team. I miss the partnership. You know that's how I work best. I didn't leave things for the last minute then. And I enjoy the partnership It was an excuse for us to talk, I'm surprising sociable for a freak.

I was talking to Chris on the way home and said that my two favorite things are music and baseball. I'm thinking about it now and that's too limiting. What about science and math? That's a huge part of who I am. It isn't social, I don't talk about it that much, but I think about it often and I love reading about it. And then there's reading. I love books. I love the New York Times. I love my blogs. Speaking of blogs I love writing. I don't know what I'd do without Wise Madness. I might just have the madness. Ther'e bridge, I know I haven't been playing it but that's because I find that harder to do with my life in disorder and without a car. There's exploring nature. There's exploring the city. There's chocolate and bacon and other foods. And of course there are friends but that is a entirely different kind of thing. There there are the other things that I don't have the time or money for but I love, movies, theater, TV, basketball (watching), swimming (doing) and my usual, all the things I'm forgetting.

There's no getting around that my life sucks but that doesn't mean that there aren't lots of good things too.

Wow I wrote this fast. Now to eat.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 07, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!