I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 09, 2013 - 11:55 a.m.

Keep Your Eye on the Ball

I have not left my bed since the last time I updated. OK that's not true I grabbed some food and went to the bathroom but still most of the time I've been sleeping, That means I'll have to come up with something to write about.

Well first after one week your favorite fantasy baseball team the Nashional Batnoses are in 7th place. Don't worry. We always start off slowly. We are usually in the cellar. Here's the thing I always become far more involved in the team once the season starts. I make great in season pickups. I can never focus like that before the season starts. There is too much to think about at once. I always say that I'll do better next year but I never do.

I also didn�t write this before I left home. I�m at school now but I got here so late I have to leave soon to go to therapy. I just wasted so much time. I should have just stayed home, finished this, and gone straight to therapy. Now I have extra trips to make to and from therapy. I won�t start on the tests till this evening so there go my plans to see Jules Shear and Pal Shazar tonight at the Living Room.

Wow it is 71�. Not only do I not need a jacket but I have to roll up my sleeves Spring is here. This could be June weather.

I forgot the brilliant blog idea I had on the way here so I�ll go back to the one I planned almost a month ago. It�s about two views of Senator Ron Portman of Ohio�s switch to support same-sex marriage, Frank Bruni�s, Portman�s Progress and Paul Krugman�s, Other People�s Children. My Gentle Readers might expect me to agree with Krugman by blogger of bloggers but on this argument Bruni, tied for my second favorite NY Times Columnist, wins the day. That�s not surprising as Krugman�s strongpoing is mathematical analysis and you can�t mathematically analyze this. Now I don�t disagree with Krugman, neither would Bruni, it�s a matter of emphasis.

Grrr, I have to go to therapy. I�ll finish this when I get back.

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! I thought that I forgot to post this but is looks like I forgot to finish it. That�s what happens when you try and multitask.

I have now interrupted writing this twice and I have a question. What do My Gentle Readers do when I stop in the middle and come back to writing? How do you know that I�m back? Do you just keep checking to see if I wrote more? Were you disappointed when you came back after therapy and I hadn�t written?

How many of you just said, �You need more therapy?�

Back to the topic at hand; Portman is by no means a hero. But who said he was? Nothing that I read. If the goal is get same sex marriage legalized then keep your eye on the ball. He should be warmly welcomed into the fold. That gives others that much more incentive to switch camps. Why should a politician change his position if he knows that all his do is lose his old supporters and still be scorned by the opposition? I�ll even throw some New Testament your way. Not because it has moral force but because it makes my point in a very nice way. �Just so, I tell you, there will be more joy in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who need no repentance �Luke15:7.� Yes I looked up the exact quote and the reference but I knew the essence, enough to find it on Google.

I like Krugman�s point too that he should care about other people�s children but Bruni addresses that. It isn�t right to be so provincial but it is human. Many who object say how it hurts them as someone who is gay or as a friend of someone who is gay. Well duh. That�s the whole point; Most people are influenced heavily by what they directly experience. Portman is no exception. It would be better if all of us formed our opinions based on what we learn indirectly by reading but most often we don�t. MADD was started by a woman whose child was killed by a drunk driver. Do you criticize her? It�s the way people are. Most of you are friends of gays (yes some of you are gay but I doubt very much then that you have no gay friends so you are still included) and that is part of why you get passionate about it. It�s personal. Do you get as passionate about girls in Afghanistan who have acid thrown in their faces by the Taliban because they go to school? How about the hundreds of undocumented immigrants who are put in solitary confinement? I don�t see everyone making posts in support of them. I�ll quote the New Testament again. �"He who is without sin among you, let him be the first to throw a stone at her." "He who is without sin among you, let him be the first to throw a stone at her (John 8:7).�

It�s about doing right. It�s not a contest to see who can get there first.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 09, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!