I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

April 06, 2013 - 11:52 a.m.

The Many Loves of Ariana Gillis

I realized this morning that it isn't my knees locking in the morning it's my Achilles tendon needing to be stretched out. How can I confuse those two? What I know is that I have trouble going down the steps first thing in the morning. My father's knees used to lock up and that was my default way of thinking about it, Now I wonder if my father's knees were really locking up or he just picked up talking about it that way from his father.

The night before last as I was walking home a kitten started following me. It would rub against my legs, run ahead and wait for me or fall behind and catch up. I thought I lost it when it went into a driveway. I figured that is where it lived. It has a collar so I figure it has a home. But when I was getting my keys out there he popped up on the porch wanting to come in with me.

I posted a cat pic on facebook and everyone is liking it. I've become part of the problem, not the solution.

Yesterday after school I worked on my fantasy baseball team. I'm in the process of making spreadsheets of all the players available at each position and computing their value. I need to tweak the system. Maybe I'll do that next year. The draft is tomorrow and I have hardly done any research. I'll be doing that all day today.

I went from my office to Rockwood Music Hall to see the Arresting Ariana Gillis. I got there a bit later than I wanted to and wasn't sure if I'd get a seat. I didn't. The chairs and tables were gone! Well OK there were a few tables lined up against the stage but no chairs. There were just the stools along the bar and windows. I hate stools. I need back support. There might have been one open, there was nobody on it but there was stuff. But I didn't want to sit on it anyway. I had a few friends there, Richard and Viki and Howard. I talked to them before the show and said hello to Ariana.

I always find standing at Rockwood awkward. People start at the stools in the back, Anywhere I stand I'll be in front of somebody. And I like being closer. What I ended up doing is going to where the seat I usually sit at is and sat on the floor. I do not stand on ceremony � or floors when I can sit. Of course I had no back support but I kept changing my position to keep comfortable

Ariana was playing here once a month till the The Living Room announced it was closing. Of course it hasn't closed but they had already canceled all their bookings. This was Ariana's first time back in the City since then and her first time at Rockwood. I haven't seen her in months! Months I tell you! It felt like forever. The bright side was the show was not just great but an event, out of my routine. She had some songs I didn't know and did a somewhat different kind of set as her father didn't bring his guitar so it was all banjo and uke. Whatever she does is great. The first time I saw her at NERFA she did a neo-trad set. She puts on as good a show as anyone, an natural performer. I wish more of my friends came out to see her. Do yourself a favor and next time she plays near you go see her. She's playing tonight at the Folk Music Society of Huntington and tomorrow at the Watercolor Caf� in Larchmont. It's a huge pain in the neck for me to get to the Watercolor but I am thinking of going. If you are thinking of going and have a car let me know if you could pick me up at the train station

I took a few pictures. You might notice that her hair has mysteriously changed color from blond to red.

Our language is much better at describing things visually than auditorily. It is hard to find the words to describe Ariana's voice, To myself I think she swallows her words but that sounds like something bad not wonderful. It has an unusual timbre. The closest match is Katell Keineg. I was blanking on Katell's name. How could I find her? I knew she was born in Breton and moved to Wales or visa versa. I Googled "Welch Breton singer." She was the first one that came up. Gillis is Irish name, maybe it's a Celtic thing. Ariana is slight and it's always striking to hear some a powerful voice come from her. It strikes me and I know intellectually that a person's voice has nothing to do with his or her body but is totally determined by about 9 inches of breathing passageways that we can't see.

After the show Richard and Viki ran off, I didn�t get to say goodbye. Howard and I talked to Ariana after we played "find the phone that is on vibrate. Her father David, misplaced his phone. She called it and asked everyone to be quiet so they could find it. It was INSIDE the piano. The piano was open when David set it down then somebody closed it.

After the show I tried Links the sausage place next door again. The service was a bit faster, I timed it, about 13'30". Still not good though. The food is amazing and the wait staff so nice. The guy remember what I had the one time he saw me before. They are all so friendly. But the owner doesn�t know how to run a business, It has become waiter service but then the waiter doesn't bring you your check. You have to go to the hostess station to pay it and she has to go behind the counter if you need change. All these things are why a place with great food and delightful staff is empty every time I go. You should go so they can stay in business as I'm addicted to their food.

Now I have to get to work on my baseball team. I spent far too much time writing this.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile April 06, 2013
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!