I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2002-10-03 - 12:00 p.m.

Waiting to the Bitter End

I�m feeling pretty good today. I followed up Tuesday�s call to Leah with calls to one on of my favorite Goovies and one of my favorite Goovies in Training. Talking to them I was once again reminded about how my friends undervalue themselves. You are amazing people, I�m only friends with amazing people. It�s in my rule book. I know right now that some people are now saying, �yeah but he doesn�t mean me.� You are wrong. I do mean you.

I didn�t have a good day teaching yesterday. I had trouble getting through to them teaching the product, quotient, and chain rules for differentiation. These are things that usually they have no trouble with. I don�t know what I did wrong. Carey thinks I traumatized them by singing Minnie the Moocher. The mnemonic device for remember the quotient rule is ho di hi minus hi di ho over ho ho.

After talking to Stacey I met Lisa at the Bitter End to see Burlap to Cashmere. She has been telling me about them for years and this is the first chance I�ve had to see them. The Bitter end said that the show was at 9:30. They didn�t go on till after 11. They were never scheduled for 9:30. This was upsetting on two counts. First I had to cut short my conversation with Stacey to get there at 9:30. Secondly it meant the show wouldn�t be over till after midnight when the trains run less often. There is a 12:21 then a 1:19. I just missed the first so I had to wait around almost an hour at Penn Station and I didn�t get home till almost 2 AM.

I wasn�t very impressed by the first singer last night. She had a weak voice and wasn�t much of a songwriter. The next band was great but I forgot the name of the lead singer. His band was called Tractor pull but their name isn�t on his album. I�m on his mailing list so I�ll find out when I get a mailing. He isn�t listed as playing last night. I guess that is the reason Burlap to Cashmere went on late. They were a rock band with agreat lead guitarist and a great mandolin player. The singer played rhythm and slide guitar. I�m always a sucker for the slide.

Burlap to Cashmere had a very different lineup since the last time Lisa saw them. She says they weren�t as good. I thought they rocked. I�ll see them again.

The Bitter End is New York�s oldest music club. It dates back to 1961. So many legends played there when they were starting out.

They All Played
The Bitter End


Ace Trucking Company
Woody Allen
Peter Allen
Luther Allison
America
Tori Amos
Harry Anderson
Maxine Andrews
Joan Armatrading
Joan Baez
Sandra Bernhardt
Burlap To Cashmere
Stephen Bishop
Ronee Blakley
Blues Traveler
Elayne Boosler
Oscar Brand
Brewer & Shipley
David Brenner
David Bromberg
Jonatha Brooke
Albert Brooks
Jackson Browne
Glen Burtnick
George Carlin
Dick Cavett
Chamber Brothers
Harry Chapin
Tracy Chapman
Charles & Eddie
Cheech & Chong
Merry Clayton
Judy Collins
Shawn Colvin
Chick Corea
Larry Coryell
Bill Cosby
James Cotton
The Critters
Jim Croce
David Crosby
Billy Crystal
Lacy J. Dalton
Charlie Daniels
Miles Davis
Jim Dawson
John Denver
Neil Diamond
Bo Diddley
Dion
Bob Dylan
Yvonne Elliman
Cass Elliot
Ramblin' Jack Elliott
Joe Ely
Everley Brothers
From Good Homes
Mimi Farina
Jose Feliciano
The First Edition
Steve Forbert
Jeffrey Gaines
Gordon Gaines
Stan Getz
Andy Gibb
G.Love & Special sauce
Steve Goodman
Stephane Grappelli
Arlo Guthrie
Bill Haley
Hall & Oates
Tim Hardin
John Hartford
Donny Hathaway
Richie Havens
Jake Holmes
Robert Hunter
Janis Ian
Don Imus
Indigo Girls
Isley Brothers
Etta James
Tommy James
Billy Joel
Dr. John
Doug Kershaw
Morgana King
Robert Klein
Leo Kottke
Kris Kristofferson
Patti La Belle
Steve Landesberg
Nil Lara
Jay Leno
Les Paul
Gordon Lightfoot
Little Feat
Lisa Loeb
Taj Mahal
Melissa Manchester
Chuck Mangione
Curtis Mayfeild
Melanie
Sarah McLachlan
Rod McKuen
Don McLean
Bette Midler
Joni Mitchell
Van Morrison
Maria Muldaur
Martin Mull
Shawn Mullins
Anne Murray
Mohammed Ali
Johnny Nash
Rick Nelson
Mickey Newbury
Randy Newman
Nine Days
Phil Ochs
Odetta
Pat Paulson
Tom Paxton
Peter,Paul,& Mary
The Persuasions
Freddie Prinz
Jean Luc Ponty
Billy Preston
Dori Previn
John Prine
Kenny Rankin
Helen Reddy
Joan Rivers
Kenny Rogers
Linda Ronstadt
Rusted Root
Otis Rush
Soupy Sales
Sam & Dave
Esther Satterfield
The Searchers
John Sebastian
Pete Seeger
Carly Simon
Patti Smith
Spin Doctors
Staple Singers
David Steinberg
Jonathan Stewart
Curtis Stigers
James Taylor
Livingston Taylor
Rip Taylor
George Thorogood
Lily Tomlin
Mary Travers
The Triplets
Kenny Vance & The Planotones
Wendy Wall
Jerry Jeff Walker
Joe Walsh
Jimmy Webb
Tony Joe White
Josh White
Jane Kelly Williams
Paul Williams
Flip Wilson
Bill Withers
Stevie Wonder
Steven Wright
Neil Young
Henny Youngman
Pretty impressive list: I should point out that I stole the list including the HTML from the Bitter End website.

I have to get to school early today because I lost my notes for the class today. Now I have to make up all new problems. It would be the one topic that I have to do lots of prep to make the questions up for.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2002-10-03
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!