I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2002-10-06 - 9:56 a.m.

I Can Hear Music

It's Sunday morning and Carey is still sleeping so I might as well update.

As usual I drove in ridiculously early to pick her up at Penn Station. I leave my house just about when her train leaves Philly. I was lucky and got great parking on 9th Avenue just a block away. After the usual meeting and hugging we drove down to the East Village for dinner. After driving across half the village we found a spot. We had dinner at one of the Indian places on 6th Avenue. It was far better than the place I went to with Lisa. We then did our usual fun shopping. We were very good and didn't buy anything but kindereggs. We found them in a Tokyo Toys, a toy import store. If we had money we both could have spent a fortune.

We got to the Bottom line a bit after 6 but the doors hadn't opened yet. We weren't the first people on line but we still got great seats. We were there for the Beat Goes on Show. This was called The Wall of Sound: From the Ronettes to the Ramones. I ran into a few other WFUV volunteers before the show. I always do and as usual I forgot their names. I'll be seeing them with name tags on at the next fund drive in a few weeks. People should always wear name tags.

The show was great as usual. Some of the performers were: Tom Clark, who I had just seen at the required listening show, Annie Golden, The Kennedys, Marshall Crenshaw, Michael Cerveris, who I saw in Hedwig, Tammy Faye Starlight, and Syd Straw. Carey was all excited because Crenshaw and Straw were both on Pete and Pete. I wish I had seen that show. It had lots of cool musicians on it.

After the show we went to Paul's for milk shakes. We actually had frosteds, which is a milk shake with extra ice cream in it. They was yummy. The most annoying Frat Boys in the world were at the table next to us. I think they were drinking the beer from the Buffy.

Yesterday we just stayed around the house during the day then drove out to Huntington to see Slaid Cleaves. I hadn't been there in years. I was disappointed that the Swensons was gone. It is a restaurant/ice cream parlor. They had the best sundaes. We had pizza instead.

On the way out there we heard the world's most neuro radio show, The No Show. I never heard it before, I bet Melissa has. The host had a tremendous difficulty speaking coherently. He played an amazing mix of music though, everything from old time blues, to the Stones, to Bach. I'm not sure what was more entertaining, the music or the hosts attempts at the English language.

We were the first one at the church where Slaid was playing. They weren't letting people in so we went to play in the playground. When other people showed up we went inside. Before the show there was an open mic, or "Open Mike" as the folk music society of Huntington calls it. The tough part at going to an open mic is keeping your comments private. It takes a lot of nerve to perform in front of all those people but it doesn't take a lot of talent.

Slaid had a new band, this time he was accompanied by a mandolin and an upright bass. He once again apologized for not having new songs. He did write one new one, a sequel to Horseshoe Lounge. He just needs eight more songs and he can come out with a new album. He said he'd have one by next fall.

When we got home Leah called and we talked to her until all three of us were falling asleep.

Today we are off to see the Kennedys playing in a library. Maura is all excited, she's going to be able to talk in a library and not be shushed. After that we are seeing Eric Schwartz , and Deirdre Flint at the Acoustic Café in Bridgeport.

Carey will be moving at the end of November. I'm so happy I'm getting to spend this time with her before she goes. Have I mentioned that she is the best, best friend in the world?


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2002-10-06
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!