I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

2002-10-02 - 12:18 a.m.

Pointy Haired Boss

It was a beautiful day and my plans were to do some recruiting then go to the Museum of Broadcasting and see the Kennedys, Art Garfunkle, and Southside Johnny on a live broadcast on WFUV. Instead I was awakened by a call at 8:30 from Helene, the woman I do the market research work for. She wanted me to do interviews on the phone today. I wasn't happy about it. I didn't have a decent questionnaire; I could barely read it. I had to write the answers on a separate piece of paper. The worst part is that I was told to not be honest. I had to tell people what to answer so they qualify for the group. Chez for all her faults never did that. It really goes against my nature. I won't do it again. The entire business was disorganized. I had to keep calling Florida all day. There was a lot of time that I had nothing to do and so I'd go online. Then she'd complain that my phone was busy. What was I supposed to do? Just sit around waiting for her to call all day? She said I'd give her the answers on the phone. Then she wasn't home and said I had to talk to her partner. I told her I wouldn't work tonight. It's Tuesday and that means Buffy. I didn't tell her that because why I couldn't work is none of her business. She then wanted me to call her partner tonight or tomorrow morning. I didn't want to do either. I ended up getting her partner's email; I just sent her the answers.

I haven't been a happy camper and I didn't need this now.

The best part of the day was that Leah called right after Buffy. She actually asked me for help with math. I've wanted to help her since I met her. I got her through math a few years ago but I know if I worked with her regularly she'd get an A. After the math we just talked about random things. She said I missed my calling that I should be a therapist. I am easy to talk to and I attract fucked up people ☺ I didn't mention it but during Buffy I was thinking how I could never work with insane people. The scene with Spike raving irrationally put me on edge. Scenes like that always do. Even worse is when I confront it in real life, which happens far too often. Just yesterday I passed a man screaming at no one in particular. There is always a fine line to walk when dealing with the emotionally disabled. If they refuse help how do you make them get it without violating their rights?

A just got an email from Helene's partner. They got a new screener today and nobody told me. All the interviews have to be redone. Once again I'm working for the pointy haired boss. I'll give myself a pat on the back for never once losing my temper or saying something I'd regret later.

OK back to Leah. I didn't get to talk to her for a while. I'm glad we are back to talking on a regular basis. Now if she'd only read my diary.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile 2002-10-02
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!