I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 18, 2012 - 1:09 a.m.

Holiday Kat-alogue

Ackk, I'm wasting time I don't have to waste. Writing this is not a waste of course, it's keeping my sanity. It counts as preventive mental health care.

So today I gave my finals. I was so good. I got up as if I was going to my 9:30 class even though the final wasn't till 10:30. I did end up getting there a bit later than normal 9:22. I printed out the test, printed out graph paper, drew axes on the graph paper, and ran collated copies of it all so I could easily insert them in the blue test booklets. I got to class early. But of course I did screw up. I never entered the grades they got on the last test. In fact I never even calculated them, just wrote how many points out of 190 they lost, So I ended up jotting down the grades and handing back the test and instructing them how to figure out the grade. If x is the amount of points they lost the formula is 100(190-x)/190. It's just the percentage formula. So of course students had trouble with it. I told them if they lost less than 76 points they passed. A student who lost 72 points said, "So I failed?" Oy.

At least I did a good job writing the test. Everything worked out beautifully. I caught all my typos and other errors before I made the final edit. It helped that I was good and took the test last night.

I have a lot of time without much to do when I proctor a test. I played a bit online with my phone but other than that I spent my time thinking. Two fun things I noticed about students, One was that I think I figured out why I was instantly fond of one girl, she looks like my friend Joyous Joy looked back when I met her. It isn't fair but you start off getting emotional credit for things that people you look liked did.

I then realized what great name one of my students has. It's so good that I t4xed Carey and told her that if she's stuck for a name when she's writing she should use it. She texted me back that not only did she think it was a great name but that she already has a character with the same last name in the book she's writing now. One of us is psychic, Or is it that we know each other very well have eerily similar taste.? Except of course when it comes to pool boys.

After school I was off to see my shrink. I had less time to get there than usual but I did. It was a stressful session which I knew it would be. I always run though the session in my head before I get there. I know what I'm going to say and I'm pretty good at knowing what the therapist is going to say in response. So I think what I get out of the sessions is my emotional responses to her physical reactions. That is not to say that doesn't have value. And of course if I didn't go I wouldn't run through it in my head. And of course she does sometimes surprise me.

After therapy I came home for a pit stop. I was going to grade but I realized I was far too tired and took a cat nap, or should I say Kat nap. I slept longer and deeper than I thought I would and if I hadn't been awaked by the doorman buzzing up I'm not sure I would have gotten up in time for what I wanted to do.

And what was that you ask? It was seeing Kat Quinn and friends at Rockwood Music Hall. Her friends were Caitlin Mahoney and Jo Kroger. So why did I go there even though I have finals to grade? I'll give you three choices. See if you can figure it out.

  1. Kat is a brilliant singer/songwriter. Her songs don't just sound pretty, they go somewhere. There is development. She throws curves at you. You have to listen closely to get everything out of her songs. Her harmonies are so much more than 1-3 or or 1-3-5.
  2. I was running through my mental thesaurus looking for synonyms for beautiful but I got pictures so I can say; she looks like this:

  3. She promised there would be cookies and showed a picture of them on the Facebook event page.

So which is it? It's a trick question the answer is because there were cookies shaped like dinosaurs! Rowr! I know that Emilie will get it right. In fact she's probably figuring out where she can get them to give out at her next performance. We think all operas can be improved with dinosaurs and or Godzillas.

When Jo was setting the cookies out she asked if I were Gordon. Here's the thing. She never met me before. We aren't fb friends. She just knows me from seeing me comment on Kat's post and my posts about Kat. Jo denies it but according to Kat the cookies were mainly Jo's doing. Jo just so you know that does me I love you.

You know it really isn't easy being me. I'm sitting here now thinking that I'm not being fair to Jo since I just said I love her when I actually proposed to Ethan after eating the steak he smoked and Ethan is not only not a cute girl like Jo, he isn't even a girl. And I am straight for those who don't have my user guide. Somehow I don't think that Jo is crushed because I didn't propose.

When I was singing Kat's praises before I didn't mention her impeccable taste in harmonizers. I had already heard her with Caitlin and knew that that combination rocked the Casbah. Her voice also blended splendidly with Jo and the guy who wasn't wearing glitter that joined her on one song. Sorry guy who wasn't wearing glitter, I didn't catch your name.

The first time I saw Kat I cursed her for being so good and thus forcing me to follow yet another musician. This time I cursed her for not only being so good but bringing cookies and taking me away from grading.

Oh let me show you more pics.


Why didn't someone tell Caitlin it was a holiday show?


Kat and Caitlin


Jo and Kat

Here's the slideshow

I was having fun just thinking about writing this. I hope you enjoyed it half as much as I did.



I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 18, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!