I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

December 20, 2012 - 11:22 a.m.

I Got the End of the Semester Blues

I'm almost done with my grading. I finished marking the questions I just have to count up how many points off for one of my classes. Then I'm off to school to enter their attendance and figure out their grades for the course. I'm technically a day late but nobody cares about that. Grading went slowly. It might have more to do with me than the test or the students. I don't have as good a workspace here as I'd like and I have other things on my mind.

I've been very good and not been an obnoxious pedant Someone has recently made several posts on Facebook that totally miss the point of the discussion and I didn't slap him or her down. It's actually a sign of lack of respect. I expect more for of my friends and if one of them had done it I'd have said something.

I managed to catch a cold,. It's weird as it comes and goes. There are times that it sounds like I'm dying of consumption then I'll be fine for a few hours. I bought cold meds last night and they help quite a bit. I wish they made it easier to buy them. There are four active ingredients in what I bought, acetaminophen, dextromethorphan, guaifenesin, and phenylephrine. I want as much dextromethorphan, the cough suppressant as I can get and some phenylephrine the nasal decongestant. The problem is they sell all these different combinations of ingredients and the only way to know what's what is to look at the fine print. Last night I couldn't get the combination I like. The only one with both ingredients that I needed has only 10 mg of dextromethorphan. That means it only last 4 hours, not enough for a night's sleep.

I took one brief break from work yesterday. I went to the Living Room to catch Ariana Gillis's monthly visit. No I am not using a euphemism even if I am the man that is good with menstruation. Ariana plays the Living Room about once a month. As I was pressed for time I did't leave much time and I arrived a few seconds into her first song. I grabbed a seat at the table down front and was not surprised to find Howard there. He is the other regular at her shows.

After the show I said hi to Ariana and bought her first album. It isn't as good as her second but still great. Then I talked to her father David. He asked if I were the one that wrote The NERFA Blog. I pled guilty and we talked about the rough time Ariana had with the sound at her Formal Showcase. I loved watching David making the connection between me and my blog. It is difficult, perhaps impossible, for me to judge how different I am in person from what I convey here.

I hear Ariana often and her music has real content so she can set my mind off in different connections. Last night as she sang "John and he Monster" my mind wandered to Tolkien's Silmarillion and the Narn i Chin Hurin. You might think it was the monster that made me think of the classic fantasy but it wasn't; It was John's sacrifice to save the monster. It made me think of Hurin and Huor holding back the forces of Morgoth so that Turgon could escape. I planned on writing a lot about that but instead I'm going to end this. In addition to the other things demanding my time I'm not feeling well. It isn't just the cold, I have bad heartburn that the antacid isn't helping and my entire digestive system is cranky I think I have to lie down for a bit


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile December 20, 2012
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!