I became insane with long intervals of horrible sanity.
Edgar Allen Poe

The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken

Many people would sooner die than think; In fact, they do so
-Bertrand Russell

What I have been telling you, from alpha to omega, what is the one great thing the sigil taught me — that everything in life is miraculous. For the sigil taught me that it rests within the power of each of us to awaken at will from a dragging nightmare of life made up of unimportant tasks and tedious useless little habits, to see life as it really is, and to rejoice in its exquisite wonderfulness. If the sigil were proved to be the top of a tomato-can, it would not alter that big fact, nor my fixed faith. No Harrowby, the common names we call things by do not matter — except to show how very dull we are ...
-James Branch Cabell

March 15, 2007 - 11:26 a.m.

DVN eat your heart out

I finally got some sleep last night. I had been having trouble since the weekend. I took Ambien on Tuesday night and it didn't help. I tried it again last night and was more careful about my sleep routine and it worked like a charm. I fell asleep quickly and didn't get up for another 6 hours and 45 minutes. I then got up went to the bathroom and went back to bed and slept for another hour.

My students can be very frustrating. They still don't take things seriously. They still ask if there are easy ways out of doing the work they have to do. They still don't do the work along with me in class. Am I going to have to demand that each student has a calculator out on his desk and do the calculation with me? Am I going to have to call on people at random to see that they've done then? I don't want to treat them like children. I could just forget it and let most of the class fail.

In my calculus class we just finished related rates problems. These are "word problems;" students always find them difficult. I realize that a huge part of the problem is that the students' knowledge base is weak. They might know things but it isn't internalized. I give them a problem with a right triangle, one fixed right angle, and one side that rotates. The trick is to find the relationship between the variables. So I ask what is the relationship between the opposite side, y, the adjacent side, x, and the angle, θ, and they don't immediately say, y/x = tanθ. They know it is true but to them it is exotic information. That is despite the fact that we used the same fact on 5 similar problems earlier.

When I got back to my office after class I found I had a spiffy new computer. Not only that but I have my own account. Now there is only one problem. I don't have access to my old files on it and I need them. I'm sure I'll be able to work that out. I have a huge screen. I love it.

Last night I played bridge with Roy. I stopped at home first and grabbed some dinner at the local chicken place that I love. This time I had the chicken and ribs mix. It was delicious and pretty healthy.

The bridge didn't go that well; we didn't score. It wasn't a disaster. Roy has one really bad habit, he will make bids that he knows are wrong when he makes them. If he would just stop doing that we'd do significantly better. My problem is that i need to focus more. It is shameful that I don't count all the cards.

Not much more happened yesterday. I could write about politics, I could write about my personal angst. Instead I'll write about what I've been teasing, a 6,000-mile-long penis. Um, hold on, I don't want you to think that I've been sitting hear teasing a penis. I meant I've been teasing this entry. I mean I might not care if you mistakenly think I'm gay but I don't want you to think that I'm a mega-cock tease.

Last time I was talking to Emilie about the difficulties of a trans-Atlantic relationship,not in the context of one between u, she suggested it might work if the guy had a 6,000-mile-long penis. We went on to discuss the logical ramifications of it. This is why I love Emilie. Forget the mechanics and such the part that really interested me was the time lag. I just did some research and found that my memory served me correctly, nerve impulses travel between 200 and 350 mph. Lets use the lower figure for simplicity. That means that after having sex the man wouldn't feel it for another 30 hours. His orgasm wouldn't come (pun unintended but welcome) till the next day. I have no idea when the results would reach the woman. It seems to me this is something that would take delicate timing. I think it would be more practical to find someone with a private jet than a 6,000-mile-long- penis.

I don't think I can end this entry. That is just too hard (pun once more unintended but welcome) to follow. You probably need to disinfect your computers, not to mention your brains, now.


I signed the Pro-Truth Pledge:
please hold me accountable.





Memories: Not that Horrid Song - May 29, 2018
Wise Madness is Now In Session - May 28, 2018
The NFL and the First Amendment - May 27, 2018
On The Road Again - May 26, 2018
Oliver the Three-Eyed Crow - May 25, 2018



creative commons
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 License.
Horvendile March 15, 2007
site search by freefind advanced


Follow on Feedly



about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!